S’more Bars

As I promised in my post about Fruity Pebble Treats, I wanted to play around with different cereals to make different kinds of bars. One day, the idea for a S’more bar hit me, so I experimented.

I used the basic recipe you’d use for the other treats, but added a little bit extra for my own enjoyment.

These were outrageous, and I would urge you to stop whatever you’re doing to make them.

S’MORE BARS – Makes 15

  • 2 bags of marshmallows (10 oz each)
  • 6 Tbsp salted butter, divided in 2
  • 12 oz box of Golden Grahams cereal
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips

Grease a 9×13″ baking dish.

In a large saucepan set to medium-low, start melting 3 Tbsp of butter. Add in one bag of marshmallows and fold continuously until you have a smooth mixture. When it’s ready, remove it from the heat.

IMG_9061 IMG_9062 IMG_9063

Add your cereal into your saucepan, folding it into the melted marshmallow. It’s kind of a pain to do with this cereal because the chunks are bigger, but it’s doable. Just be patient in knowing you will have an epic treat on hand when you’re done!

IMG_9064 IMG_9066

When it’s all mixed together, pour it into your prepared baking dish, and smooth everything out into an even layer.

IMG_9069

Now, returning your saucepan to medium-low on your range, add in your remaining 3 Tbsp of butter. Same as earlier, add in your marshmallows and fold until it’s a smooth mixture. There may be some remaining chunks of cereal in there, it’s not a big deal.

Once it’s ready, pour it as evenly as you can over the top of your bars, and immediately use a spatula to smooth it out. I stupidly stopped for pictures halfway through, so mine wasn’t as evenly dispersed as it could have been. Lesson learned!

IMG_9072

Man, had I a kitchen torch, I would have used it on this top layer to toast the marshmallows. In fact, I tried putting them under the broiler to toast, but it didn’t work as I’d hoped. It just made the ‘mallow seep to the bottom and get gummy. So, I wouldn’t recommend doing that.

Let the bars cool a bit, and now you can prepare your chocolate chips. We’re going to melt them, and drizzle them on top. Using a piping bag, or a zip-top bag, microwave your chips for 20 seconds at a time until completely melted. Take them out after each zap to smush the bag around and smooth out the mixture. They should be ready after a minute. Snip the end of the bag, and in whatever pattern you see fit (I did lots of zig-zags) pipe the chocolate out to finish creating your s’more. Don’t be stingy, use it all!

IMG_9074 IMG_9076 IMG_9078

Let the bars cool completely, and let the chocolate set, before cutting. It’s just less messy that way. Feel free to serve with milk or coffee.

IMG_9085 IMG_9082

These were insane. I was ridiculously proud of how fantastic they were! I brought them to a friend’s house to share, and when there were a few left over I pawned them off on the neighbors so as not to finish the tray by myself. But boy, I wanted to…

These are an Evil Rating of 5, because it’s exactly what you want in a treat, minus the inability to control yourself while eating them. (In related news, I calculated the calories per serving, and they’re 267. Much lower than I’d anticipated!)

Enjoy!

3 comments

  1. Oh my gosh… These look amazing. I’m going to make them! What do you think about adding some peanut butter flavors? And how would you suggest to do it?!

    Cheers, ~M

    1. That sounds fantastic! Maybe melt some peanut-butter chips and melt those over the top after the chocolate??

  2. Yum these bars look so addictive 😀
    Want!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a comment