Pumpkin Pie

A coworker was testing out recipes the week before Thanksgiving, to make sure everything turned out okay for the big day, and we at work got to reap the benefits. So, when a friend asked me to make a pumpkin pie for dessert last week, I was armed with a killer recipe!

Now, I don’t typically care for pumpkin pie. Most years I reluctantly try a bite to see if my tastes have changed, and until this pie they hadn’t. But unlike the bland, slimy stuff I’d had in previous trials, this pie was wonderfully seasoned. (You can ask my coworker, I tried to politely decline this pie as well, but I’m glad I didn’t!)

He got the recipe from AllRecipes.com, and picked it because it said “perfect” in the title. It’s super easy to make – you throw everything into a bowl at the same time and mix. I even bought a pre-made graham cracker crust from the store. (Full disclosure, I couldn’t get the pie out of the tin when cutting slices later on, not sure why, but those of you with more graham cracker crust experience might have better luck. Not sure if it was baking time or the crust itself.) Sure was tasty though!

I only modified the recipe slightly, by adding a couple extra spices.

Pumpkin Pie – Serves 6-8

  • 1 – 15 oz can pumpkin
  • 1 – 14oz can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 large eggs (room temp)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 – 9″ unbaked pie crust of your choice (I liked the graham cracker, but gingersnaps are also yummy)

If you don’t have all the individual spices listed above, you can substitute 1 Tbsp of pumpkin pie spice. (Doesn’t include the salt.)

Preheat the oven to 425ºF. Take all your ingredients, and mix them together in a bowl until smooth. Then pour it into the crust. (There was a bit extra due to the size of the crust I bought. I wouldn’t pour it all in if it looks like it’ll overflow! I poured the rest into a mini pie dish I have.)

Seriously. It’s that easy.

Bake the pie for 15 minutes and then turn the oven temp down to 350ºF and bake for 35-40 minutes. The pie will be puffy when you take it out of the oven, but as it cools it’ll flatten out. (Should’ve taken baby pie out earlier, whoops!)

IMG_9777

Let it cool, and serve with whipped cream! (If you’re into that.)

This pie didn’t disappoint, particularly since (as you may have noticed) I haven’t baked anything since the spring. Was a good recipe to cut my teeth on 🙂

Enjoy!

IMG_4920

Leave a comment