Freshly Baked in the Editing Kitchen

So I haven’t been baking lately, as I’m sure you can tell. But I’ve been pretty busy at work in my day job, and wanted to share some of the fruits of my labor with you!

A friend and I have been working on a passion project for a bit over a year now, and the subject of this particular labor of love is the wonderfully talented children’s book author and illustrator Marla Frazee. She was so kind and generous as to let us into her home to ask about her craft and how she got started in picture books. And in her story, I saw some of my own reflected – the love for what I do, the ‘aha!’ moment when it clicked for me that I wanted to tell stories too, but in my own way, and the sentiment that you have to put the time and effort in if you want to get something substantial back.

Please take the time to watch this video – it’s under 5 minutes – and I’d love to hear what you think and what stood out to you. And then please share it with anyone else who might be inspired by her story.

As you may recall, I’d made some jalapeño-shaped cookies over the holidays to give to my clients as gifts, and perhaps after watching this video, it’ll make sense as to why 🙂

One comment

  1. GREAT VIDEO!!! I love her stuff… I’m going to have to go pick up some of her books for my friends with kiddos! (and maybe some for me too)

Leave a Reply

