White Trash Bars

What do you do when you’ve offered to bake something for a White Trash Bash, and have no idea what’s considered a “white trash” dessert? You do a Google search, duh. When these White Trash Bars came up on Twin Dragonflies Designs, I knew it was a sign.

These bars are pure sugary goodness, and there are only 4 ingredients! Now, I’ll admit that there was some user error on my part in implementing this recipe. To be fair, the original I found was somewhat vague in details, but I’ll tell you guys what I’d do differently next time. (AKA what you should probably do.)

I doubled the recipe to make sure there were plenty of bars to go around, but for a smaller amount you can halve what I have below (and use an 8×8″ dish), or just click the original link above.

WHITE TRASH BARS – serves 24

  • 2 boxes Ritz Crackers (6 sleeves)
  • 2 cans Sweetened Condensed Milk (14 oz each)
  • 2 bags of Heath Toffee Bits/Skor Bar (*optional* – reserve 3/4 cup for garnish)
  • 2 containers of French Vanilla frosting (I got what was on sale)

Preheat your oven to 350ºF, and then prepare a lasagna pan (4 qt baking dish, bigger than the 9×13″) by greasing the bottom and sides with butter or shortening. I couldn’t get these out of the pan after, so that means either more grease next time, or maybe some wax paper as well…

In a really large bowl, crush up your crackers. (Very easy to do by hand!) I based the size of my cracker chunks on what I saw in the photo from the original post, but honestly I think these would have worked out much better with much smaller chunks, or even completely pulverized as Ritz dust. The bars didn’t bind together as well as I’d hoped, so I’d opt to make your pieces on the smaller side.

IMG_9036

Loosely mix in the toffee bits minus the 3/4 cup you reserved, you’ll be mixing again when you add the sweetened condensed milk, and then pour the mixture into your prepared baking dish.

IMG_9039 IMG_9040

Now add in your milk, and use a spatula to incorporate it with the crackers and toffee. This was quite difficult to do, so I’d recommend maybe adding the milk while your dry stuff is still in the large bowl. Stirring in a shallow baking dish resulted in my losing lots of ingredients over the edges, no matter how careful I was. But if your bowl is full to the brim, it won’t make a difference anyway.

IMG_9042 IMG_9043IMG_9045

Smooth out your mixture so there’s an even layer across the bottom.

Bake the bars for 15-20 minutes, until the milk is bubbling around the edges. Here’s where I noticed things weren’t really going according to plan. All the milk was around the bottom, and nothing was really binding the top layer together. Again, I feel smaller pieces would remedy this for the future.

IMG_9047

Let the bars cool completely.

Once they’ve cooled, but are still in the pan, frost the entire top with the vanilla frosting. Then, garnish with your remaining toffee bits. Cut into 24 pieces and serve! The original author said these taste better the next day, but I didn’t have any leftovers to test that theory!

IMG_9051

IMG_9052

They tasted great! Beyond sickeningly sweet, but some people are into that. And there might be a part of you that’s tempted to homemake your frosting and toffee, but I’d remind you that I think part of the “white trash” theme is that this is all stuff you can easily grab from the store. It certainly made things easier for me!

I’d rate these an Evil Rating of 4 because they were sweet and surprisingly rich and decadent. White-Trashtastic!

IMG_9056

2 comments

  1. I love this ! Keep up the great baking! Xoxox Mom

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. These bars are calling my name, they look so delicious 😀
    Love the gooey factor!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a Reply

