Trix Bars

The fact that I never posted these back when I was doing my whole cereal bar experiment shouldn’t surprise me, because my brain is on another planet these days, so here’s another (fantastic-tasting) cereal you should give a go with some melted marshmallow and butter.

Like I said, I made these last summer back when I was doing all the other cereal bars. Part of my reasoning was I wanted to see if they were as tasty as the Fruity Pebbles (they were), and if they had a better consistency than the Reese’s Puffs bars (infinitely better). I believe I noted in that post that the Puffs tasted kind of stale, and I wasn’t sure if it had to do with the cereal itself or maybe the shape of the cereal, so I wanted to test the recipe out with another round one. These were to-die-for. So, if you’re looking for yet another cereal to add sugar to and make portable, this is a solid choice.

TRIX BARS – Makes 20-24

  • One box (11 oz or close) box Trix cereal
  • 10 oz bag of marshmallows
  • 3Tbsp unsalted butter

Prepare a 9×13″ pan by greasing it with butter or shortening.

Start melting your butter in a larger saucepan over low heat. Then, add in your marshmallows and stir until completely melted. (For step-by-step pictures, check out this previous post on Fruity Pebbles.)

When the marshmallows are smooth, add in your box of cereal, and stir until it’s all completely coated.

IMG_9186 IMG_9189

Then, using a butters spatula or even wax paper, press the mixture evenly into the prepared baking dish. Let it cool, then cut it into squares. (Buttering your knife first helps a lot with this too!)

IMG_9188

Finally, serve and share to make everyone happy. I gave a bunch of these to my neighbor to get them out of my house. He’s married with 3 kids, and only two of them were home when I dropped these off, and from what I gather not everyone got to try one. Can’t say I blame them! These were fantastic!

IMG_9210

One comment

  1. Looks like it’s been a while since your last post. What may I do to inspire you? Show up in L.A. for some tasty treats?! Well maybe I will!
    Clayton

Leave a Reply

