Candied Pecans

I was hoping to squeeze in some more holiday recipes before, you know, the holidays… So here’s another one! I’ve always wanted to try these, and today seemed to be the day. I’m having dinner with some friends and I offered to bring a salad, and I got it in my mind to do a shmancy salad with arugula, cheese, pear, and candied pecans. As the nuts are amazing on their own, I know they’ll add that extra kapow to the salad later on. (**Update – these were amazing with the salad.**) You can use these as a garnish, as snacks before or after your big meal, or even as a last-minute hostess gift if you need one.

I found this recipe on Two Peas & Their Pod, and they were insanely easy to make. Also, you use an entire pound of nuts so you’ll have plenty of them! There was a bit too much salt in these for my taste, I’m not a salt person, so next time I’d use half the amount, but the rest of the recipe is spot on.

CANDIED PECANS – yields 1lb pecans

  • 1 lb pecans
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tsp water
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat your oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment or a silpat. In a medium bowl, combine the sugars, cinnamon, and salt. Whisk them together so they’re evenly distributed.

IMG_9398

IMG_9399

In the bowl of a mixer, or however you want to do it, combine the egg white, water, and vanilla, and whisk until the eggs are frothy. I think I did mine on high for about 5 minutes. As is typical in baking anyway, make sure your egg white is room temperature. It will make this process easier.

IMG_9397 IMG_9400

Once the eggs are ready, add in your nuts and stir to coat them. Then, add in your sugar mix and stir it in evenly.

IMG_9401IMG_9402

Spread the nuts out onto your prepared baking sheet as evenly as you can. They were sticky so it was difficult to get them into one layer. Just do your best.

IMG_9405

You’ll be baking these for a total of 45 minutes, but you will need to stir them every 15. I used a spatula and made sure none were sticking too much to each other or to the parchment. Surprisingly, the more they baked the less they stuck together. I was expecting a giant clump of pecans, but I guess that’s why you stir them up.

Once they’re done baking, remove the baking sheet to a wire rack and let them cool. I tried one of the nuts when it was still warm and it was soft and mushy. But once they’ve cooled you’ll see that the pecans, and the outside shells, become nice and crispy – but fortunately not break-your-teeth crunchy.

IMG_9406

I highly suggest these for the holiday season, or any group gathering where you want a tasty nosh that’s easy to make. Evil rating is 3 because I’m having a hard time saving some for dinner.

IMG_9409

2 comments

  1. Who doesn’t love these pecans, they are the best snack and so addictive 😀

    Happy Holidays!
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. pamasaurus · · Reply

    These look so yummy!

Leave a Reply

