Reese’s Puffs Bars

I made another cereal bar, I know you’re shocked! This particular experiment involved Reese’s Puffs Cereal. I wanted to enhance them, a la the s’more bars, so I added a drizzle of peanut butter and chocolate over the top. Yummers. Now, I will admit, these weren’t my favorite because the cereal didn’t have as much crunch as I’d have liked. It tasted a bit stale – well, not the taste but the texture. (Though no one else thought that when I asked.) Anyway, they were a hit regardless!

REESE’S PUFFS BARS – Makes 20-24

  • 11oz box of Reese’s Puffs (or comparable) cereal
  • 1 bag of marshmallows
  • 3 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup each of milk chocolate chips and peanut butter chips – melted

Make the bars per usual – melt the butter, add in marshmallows, stir until completely smooth, then remove from heat and add in cereal.

While the mixture is cooking, grease a 9×13″ pan with butter or shortening.  Once your cereal is mixed into the marshmallow, pour it into your prepared dish and smooth it out evenly with a greased spatula. It’s easier to do once it’s cooled a bit, so do your best, and you can always take a second pass.

IMG_9177

Now it’s time to melt your chips if you haven’t already. I used piping bags, microwaved for 20 seconds at a time, smushing everything around between zaps to make sure it melts smoothly. Then, cut the tip off and pipe zig zags over the top of your cooling bars. Repeat for the second round of chips.

IMG_9178

Let the bars cool completely, and let the toppings harden, before cutting. Make sure to grease your knife before cutting to help the process. These went over really well with my friends. Despite the fact that they’re not particularly pretty, they’re pretty tasty. And I was the only one who felt the texture was off. Not going to stop me from making them again to see if they’re better the second time around.

Have you tried these before? What do you think? There’s one other cereal bar experiment I’ve done that I’ll post about soon, but are there any other flavors you’ve tried and loved? Pass them along, I’d love to give it a try!

Enjoy!

IMG_9183

2 comments

  1. These puff bars look so delicious, I love Reese’s flavours!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a Reply

