No Bake Cookies

I’ve had this recipe from Food Network stored away for awhile. Years, actually. And one morning, before a cookout a few weeks ago, I couldn’t handle the thought of baking something, so I turned to these. How can you go wrong; chocolate and peanut butter? Less than 15 minutes to make? I was sold. Bonus – I had all the ingredients in my house already.

Here’s my one disclaimer — while these are no-bake, and you don’t have to turn on the oven which is great for a hot day, they’re not really great outdoor-event-in-the-heat kind of cookies. They don’t hold their shape (read: they get melty and greasy), and they don’t necessarily look appetizing. And truth be told, while the finished cookies taste yummy, it actually took everything I had not to eat the entire saucepan of “batter” before I even made them. (It was that much better served hot on a spoon. No lie.)

So anyway, it’s a great recipe to have in your arsenal when you don’t want to turn up the heat in your home, but they didn’t do all that well sitting on a picnic table at the beach all day. That being said, you should try these at some point. Maybe even as an alternative topping for ice cream.

CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER NO BAKE COOKIES – Makes 2 dozen

  • 1.5 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 stick butter (I went with unsalted, figuring there was enough salt in the peanut butter)
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used half & half)
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla
  • 3 cups oatmeal (I used the quick cook kind)

Prepare 2 baking sheets, or a surface that can handle heat, by lining them with wax paper.

In a heavy saucepan, bring the sugar, cocoa powder, butter, and milk to a boil. Let it boil for one minute, then add in the peanut butter and stir. Turn off the heat, and add in the vanilla. My mixture bubbled up at this point, just fyi. Chemical reactions, and whatnot… Finally, add in the oatmeal, and stir to incorporate.

IMG_9003 IMG_9005 IMG_9006 IMG_9007 IMG_9008

Drop the “batter” onto the prepared baking sheets a spoonful at a time, leaving space between because they’ll ooze a bit, and leave until cooled and (somewhat) hardened. Mine didn’t harden completely, and even after a bout in the fridge, they were still pretty pliable. I mention this because I kept expecting them to settle like a chocolate bar, but that wasn’t the case.

IMG_9010IMG_9011IMG_9012

 

 

Now, if you don’t need 2 dozen cookies, feel free to eat as much “raw batter” as you want right out of the saucepan. I will warn you it’s going to be hot, and might burn your mouth, but use your common sense and enjoy! Pure heaven.

I’ll give these cookies an Evil Rating of 4, because there’s nothing healthy about them, and they can be messy to eat. But they’re peanut butter and chocolate, so how can you stop at one? Also, if you store them in the freezer, they eat kind of like fudge. Nothing wrong with that!

I’ve never really found another no-bake recipe for cookies, most of my searches yielded a variation of these, but would love to explore more if you want to pass some ideas my way!

IMG_9014 IMG_9021

2 comments

  1. What delicious no bake cookies 😀
    I need to eat these!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    1. Uru, they are right up your alley!

Leave a Reply

