Pink Velvet Cupcakes

I was asked to make some cupcakes and cookies for a baby shower, where the color scheme was pink and grey. Immediately, for the cupcakes, I thought of pink cakes with grey frosting – and pink velvet seemed a logical way to accomplish that.

I used my Red Velvet Cupcake and Cream Cheese Frosting recipes, and just added pink food coloring to the cupcakes, and black to the frosting. In both cases, I would advise you to add just enough food coloring to get the hue you’re looking for. (In hindsight, I would have done a little less pink in the cakes, but I was so worried you wouldn’t be able to tell it was pink!)

Anyway, behold – my cupcakes:

IMG_7857 IMG_7851 IMG_7828IMG_7827

4 comments

  1. These are so unusual and so pretty
    , I would never have thought about grey icing!

    1. Thank you! I can’t say I would have either, were it not for the color scheme of the shower, but I was definitely pleased with how they ended up!

  2. They look so professional, the frosting is perfect and the cupcake colour brings out my inner girly 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    1. Aww, thank you 🙂 Glad we both got to be a bit girly then 😉

Leave a Reply

