Blueberry Pie

I needed a dessert recently when I headed over to a friend’s place for dinner. His wife was making fish tacos, and his 3-year old son declared that out all the pie flavors possible, blueberry sounded best. I couldn’t argue.

I used the same crust recipe I’d used for my quiche, and doubled the recipe to make a top crust as well. Not sure I’d made enough to do a lattice, and wary of trying to roll out a big enough circle to cut into strips, I followed the lead of many a pie maker before me and used a cookie cutter… But I’m getting ahead of myself.

I found this recipe on Simply Recipes, and didn’t change a thing except that I forgot to add the butter to the filling. (Next time!)

BLUEBERRY PIE – Serves 8-10

for the filling:

  • 6 cups blueberries (I used 2 bags of frozen, and a pint of fresh, could have added another pint!)
  • zest of a small lemon
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice (I juiced half the lemon)
  • 1/4 cup flour or corn starch (I used corn starch)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

for the egg wash:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp milk

If you’re using frozen berries, make sure you’ve defrosted and drained them first. Also make sure to go through all the berries and pick out any stems. I used a paper towel to help sop up some extra liquid, and it turned a gorgeous purple 🙂

IMG_7227 IMG_7229

Prepare the pie crust according to whatever recipe you’re using. Refrigerate the crust for half an hour once it’s been rolled and put into the dish. Don’t clean up your rolling pin and floured surface just yet, you still need to prep the upper crust. Keep the remainder of the dough in the fridge until you’re ready to top the pie.

First thing I did was add the lemon zest to the sugar and massaged it together using my fingers. Let that sit while you prep the rest of the ingredients. Whisk together the dry ingredients – the corn starch and cinnamon – in another bowl. Add the lemon juice to the berries, then add the zested sugar as well as the dry ingredients and mix gently to coat the berries evenly. Then pour it into the chilled crust and use a spatula or spoon to help spread it evenly. Dot the top of the filling with the pieces of butter.

IMG_7232 IMG_7234 IMG_7235 IMG_7237 IMG_7238

Roll out your remaining pie crust to about 1/8″-1/4″ thick. I opted to use star-shaped cookie cutters to make the top. I used 5 big stars around the edges, and filled it in with bigger ones. You don’t need to put anything on the dough to help bind it together, just make sure all the edges are touching one another. If you’re rolling out a solid crust to top your pie, just make sure to score it to let steam out.  (Use a sharp knife to make an ‘X’ in the middle of the pie.)

IMG_7241 IMG_7242

Once you have your crust set, whisk together the egg and milk to make an egg wash. Use a pastry brush to spread it over the crust. Optional – sprinkle some coarse sugar over the top once the egg wash is on.

Then, return your pie to the fridge to let the crust firm up before baking. (About half an hour.)

As much time ahead as you need to preheat your oven, before taking the pie out, preheat your oven to 425ºF. Then bake it for 20 minutes. Lower the temperature to 350ºF and bake for another 30-40 minutes, until juices are bubbling and have thickened. If your crust is browning too quickly, loosely cover the top of the pie with aluminum foil. I left it uncovered for the first 20 minutes, then covered it when I lowered the temp, and took the foil off for its last 10 minutes or so in the oven.

Transfer it to a wire rack to cool completely before serving.

IMG_7243

While this pie was incredible on its own, my friend’s wife served it with a decadent homemade cinnamon ice cream. I don’t know that I can eat blueberry pie any other way from now on, but let me know how you serve this when you make it.

IMG_7247

10 comments

  1. What a brilliant pie my friend 😀
    Love those little stars!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    1. Thanks, friend 🙂

  2. Anywhere Home · · Reply

    I want a slice of that! It looks amazing.

    1. Next time I see you 🙂

  3. I love the starts on the top! This seems like the perfect blueberry pie for a 4th of July celebration!

    1. Thanks, it’s an unintentionally patriotic pie, but I do love stars! And it tasted great 🙂

  4. Love love love the way you decorated this pie! I can’t wait until blueberry season….

    1. Thanks, Susan! I know it looks rather patriotic, but I do love me some stars 🙂

  5. Blueberry pie will always be one of my very favorites. This looks wonderful! Great choice. Loving the stars!

    1. Thanks 🙂 Can’t go wrong with blueberry, and this was a solid recipe. And the stars made it tastier!

Leave a Reply

