Almond Butter Thumbprints

I had actually intended to make these for Valentine’s Day, purchased a big ol’ bag of pink and silver-wrapped Kisses, but decided on brownies instead. So, this past weekend, I was trying to find a way to use them now that the bag had dwindled to half its former contents.

I have always wanted to attempt a thumbprint cookie and had a stockpile of recipes I could try – some with peanut butter, some that use jam instead of chocolate kisses, and finally one that uses almond butter. I ended up going with the latter, slightly modifying the recipe from Sew Katie Did.

The only real changes I made to the recipe was that I added in some almond extract, and used sour cream instead of the milk and cream of tartar. (Mostly because I had literally 2 Tbsp of sour cream left in a container that wouldn’t last for long.) Also, Katie rolled her cookies in chopped almonds before baking – which I will try next time, but I didn’t have any almonds on hand when I made these. Nor did I have whole wheat flour, which would probably have added an extra nutty flavor layer. Finally – I halved her recipe because I pretty much made these as a snack, and didn’t need 4 dozen for myself.  (I don’t need 2 dozen either, but that was a more justifiable amount.)

I used creamy, roasted almond butter. If yours has added sugar and salt, you might want to slightly modify those ingredients in your recipe. (Particularly the salt.) I imagine using chunky almond butter would add a delightful crunch, and the recipe doesn’t specify either way.

ALMOND BUTTER THUMBPRINT COOKIES – Makes 2 dozen (1/2 recipe)

for the cookie:

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup almond butter
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar – packed
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp sour cream
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • 1 cup AP flour (Or 1/2 AP and 1/2 whole wheat)

for decoration/topping:

  • 3-4 Tbsp granulated sugar for decoration
  • 24 Hershey’s Kisses

Preheat your oven to 350ºF. You’ll be baking the cookies on un-greased sheets.

Cream together your butter and almond butter. Add in the extracts and the egg, and beat until just incorporated. Then add in your sour cream and mix. Add all your dry ingredients in together, and mix until the dough just comes together.

IMG_7169IMG_7173 IMG_7174 IMG_7175 IMG_7177

Portion out the dough into about 1″ rounds – I made them a bit too big, so I only ended up with 21 – then roll them around in granulated sugar to coat. Place them on the un-greased cookie sheet, and use your thumb to make an indent in the top. You won’t put the kisses on until after the cookies come out of the oven.

IMG_7179 IMG_7183 IMG_7180

Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes (I did 10 since they were bigger). While they’re in the oven, start unwrapping your kisses. You’ll need to get them on the cookies while they’re still hot so they adhere. Just in case, I popped the trays back in the oven for a few seconds.

IMG_7185 IMG_7188IMG_7190

My cookies puffed up in the middle, where I’d made the indent, so I imagine it’s because I put too much baking soda (and the extra sour cream). I modified that in the recipe above. The flavor and texture of the cookies weren’t affected at all. They came out with a slightly crispy outside, and nice and cakey on the inside. The kisses were ooey-gooey, just as they should be.

The surprising thing to me was that the almond butter flavor wan’t very prominent in these – though they’re beyond delicious  – even with the almond extract. I figure if I made this using peanut butter (and topping with jelly, duh), it would be a stronger flavor.

I give them an evil rating of 4 because I may or may not have eaten all 2 dozen in one weekend… Ok fine, there were only 21 to start, and I gave 3 away… but I still ate a dozen and a half. Dangerous. DANGEROUS. No matter. Make these as soon as possible.

IMG_7206

2 comments

  1. This is a brilliant delicious sweet recipe 😀

    Cheers
    CCU

Leave a Reply

