Green Velvet Whoopie Pies

A coworker of mine had been hounding me lately to make whoopie pies, so I promised I’d do some for St. Patrick’s Day. (It was either that or macarons, and those are still too recent a memory for me to tackle them again. Shamrocks would look cute, but be a pita for sure. I guess she likes sandwich cookies?)

I found a few great recipe suggestions for Red Velvet Whoopie Pies, and decided to go with this one from Better Homes and Gardens. And, obviously, daringly chose to make them green instead.

These are pretty simple to make, and they went over famously with my coworkers. Fortunately, they also included stuff I had already in the pantry – except for marshmallow cream, but I had to run out to grab dinner anyway. And next time I can always take a stab at making it myself again

You can make the cookies bigger or smaller, depending on your audience. I made mine about 1″ rounds, partially to make more, and partially because I didn’t realize how thick the batter was when I decided to pipe it out rather than spoon it, and my hand got tired. The main difference will be in baking time, so do what suits you!

Also – early apologies for the terrible pictures due to ridiculously inconsistent lighting in my kitchen late at night. Not everything looked that beige in real life.

GREEN VELVET WHOOPIE PIES – Makes about 40 sandwiches (80 cookies, about 1″ each)

for the cookie:

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2  cup buttermilk
  • 1 ounce (2Tbsp/30ml) food coloring – I used green

for the filling:

  • 1/4 cup (4 Tbsp) unsalted butter, softened
  • 4oz cream cheese, room temp
  • 7 oz jar of marshmallow spread

Preheat your oven to 375ºF, and line some cookie sheets with parchment.

Whisk together your dry ingredients – flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt – in a bowl. Then, in a measuring cup, combine the buttermilk, vanilla, and food coloring. Cream your butter and brown sugar. When it’s light and fluffy (mine didn’t really achieve that), add in your egg, and mix until incorporated. Using the dry-wet-dry method, add in half your dry ingredients, and mix on low until it’s mostly combined. Add in your wet ingredients, mix a little, then add the rest of the dry and mix until just incorporated. Don’t over mix or these will certainly turn out dense and unappealing. (Been there, done that.)

IMG_7151IMG_7149 IMG_7150IMG_7152 IMG_7153 IMG_7154

Spoon batter in one or two inch rounds onto the baking sheets, making sure to leave 1″ between them to allow for spreading. Before I realized how thick and uncooperative the batter was, I opted to pipe them out with a pastry bag. If you do this, make sure you either use a big enough tip, or squeeze the batter out hard enough that it spreads on its own. I made some swirls in my earlier tries, and you could still see them once they were baked. And I did some test spoon ones, and they came out just as well, if not nicer. (I did help shape them a bit with my fingers. And yes, I know what the ones in the pic below look like.)

IMG_7155

Bake 1″ cookies for about 6-8 minutes, and larger ones about 7-9. I’m not sure a good test or marker you should look for, I just pulled mine all out at 7 minutes, and they weren’t overdone (except the thinner ones). Let them cool on the cookie sheet, then remove them to a rack to cool completely before filling.

I find it helpful to pair these off before you even get started with the filling, so arrange them together on the racks as you set them to cool.

To make the filling – cream together the butter cream cheese, then fold in the marshmallow. I opted for straight mixing rather than folding. Another day I’ll try it the right way, maybe it’ll be fluffier?, but my laziness in no way affected the taste. Pipe a dollop of filling onto the flat side of a cookie, leaving a little room at the edge for where it will spread out when its match is placed on top. I popped these straight into tupperware and then into the fridge.

IMG_7157

Let them sit for about 15 minutes at room temp before serving, as they’re a little dry right from the fridge.

I thought these were too sweet, personally, and didn’t have any more after my initial test bite. Good news is, my coworkers all seem to have different taste buds than I, and they loved them! I got compliments and insults aplenty. My favorite being, “I love you… but I hate you.”

You still have plenty of time to make these for St. Patty’s day, so get on it!

IMG_7167IMG_7162

6 comments

  1. Very impressive! This is such a wonder bake! =D

  2. Jesfine23 · · Reply

    Green cookies…hmmmmm —- would the cookie monster eat them? I know they taste great – no need to bake them for me in anything but red velvet!

    1. Sounds like a plan 🙂

  3. Wow! Lurid! 😀

    1. intense, for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

