Frosted Brownies

As you all know, I have my rock-solid, go-to brownie recipe. But that doesn’t mean I can’t branch out every now and again! I wanted to try something new for a birthday party recently, so I did a search for “brownies,” like you do. This recipe came from AllRecipes.com, which hasn’t let me down yet, and promised a brownie that was both fudgy and cakey. I’ll tell you, they did not disappoint. And, for that extra pow, it calls for a chocolate frosting on top.

The comments recommended you double both recipes for a 9×13″ pan, but here is a link to the original recipe for an 8×8″. I doubled both the batter and the frosting recipes, and found that there was really just not enough frosting to go around – I ripped the top of my brownies trying to spread it 😦 – and a little extra chocolate never hurt anyone! So, as a precaution, I have tripled the recipe for you.

FROSTED BROWNIES – makes 24

for the brownie:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1.5 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

for the frosting:

  • 1 cup + 1Tbsp unsalted butter, softened (like really soft, not just room temp)
  • 1/2 cup + 1 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3 Tbsp honey
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 cups powdered sugar

Preheat your oven to 350°F, and grease and flour a 9×13″ baking dish.

Combine your dry ingredients – sugar, flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder – in a large bowl, and whisk them together. You can use the back of a spatula to help get rid of any clumps.

IMG_6763 IMG_6764

In another bowl, or measuring cup, combine your vanilla and melted butter. Add your wet ingredients to the dry, and mix to incorporate. I added all 3 eggs at once, but you can do one at a time – it will be easier. (You’ll note, the directions from the original recipe are different from what I’m writing, but it’s because this way works so well for all my other brownies. Why mess with a good system?) Mix everything together until the dry ingredients are just incorporated (don’t forget to scrape the bottom and sides of the bowl!). Make sure not to over-mix!

IMG_6765

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, and spread it out evenly. Bake for 22-25 minutes. (Mine were done at 22, the original recipe called for 25.) Just make sure it passes a toothpick test.

IMG_6766 IMG_6767

You’ll want to frost the brownies while they’re still warm, so you can prep the frosting while they’re in the oven. The directions on this were unclear, and I followed them in that I just tried mixing everything together. This was a pain in the butt, my butter wasn’t soft enough apparently. So, I’d recommend you mix it like you would a buttercream. (Cream the butter, vanilla and honey together, then add in the dry stuff and mix until smooth.)

IMG_6768 IMG_6769

Then spread your frosting evenly over the top of the brownies, while they’re still warm in the baking dish. Let everything cool completely before cutting and serving.

IMG_6771

These got some great reviews, and better yet – they all went! They were the perfect combination of fudge and cake, and I took out some of the sugar in the brownie batter to better counter the super-sweet frosting. That was one of the overwhelming comments – that they weren’t sickeningly sweet. So that was good! I’d rank these a 4 on the Evil Rating Scale, because it’s a lot of chocolate, and no one was safe from their pull. Not even me.

I can’t wait to experiment next time with different frostings, anyone have suggestions? I mean, peanut-butter is a given… But what are some of your favorite brownie toppers?

(And, since someone asked, these pictures are of the brownies with frosting on them. Not really discernible, since the brownie is the same color and there wasn’t that much frosting to begin with.)

IMG_6776

4 comments

  1. Nothing wrong with extra chocolate – YUM!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. I’m always on the lookout for a good brownie recipe. These look awesome. Love the new blog look!

    1. Thank you 🙂 Needed to make a change! And as much as I love my tried and true brownie recipe, I’m always up for testing out a new one. Chocolate is chocolate, amiright?

  3. Anywhere Home · · Reply

    If they are anything as good as the delicious staple brownie recipe you have, I can’t wait to test em out! What about a “heart healthy” version, like something that substitutes butter for apple sauce or beans?

Leave a Reply

