Peppermint Swirl Brownies

Happy holidays,  everyone! Here’s a seasonal twist on a personal favorite of mine.

Some of you might remember the time I made marble brownies. (BTW – you should definitely make those as-is, if you haven’t already.) I was inspired by both that recipe, and my love of all things chocolate and mint at this time of year, to make these peppermint swirl brownies. Enjoy!

PEPPERMINT SWIRL BROWNIES – makes 24

for the brownie:

for the cream cheese layer:

  • 1 – 8oz package Philly Cream Cheese (it is their recipe, after all)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp peppermint extract

Please follow the directions at this link for the actual detailed directions and photos, but basically you’ll preheat the oven, grease and line a 9×13″ pan with parchment, prepare your brownie batter and the cheesecake batter separately, put the brownie batter in the pan, dollop the cheesecake on top, and use a butter knife to swirl the batters together for the marbleized look. Bake according to whatever brownie recipe you’re using. I highly recommend my favorite recipe for basic awesome brownies, which I linked above.

IMG_6654IMG_6657IMG_6658

These were a huge hit at the holiday party I went to, and I heard a lot of, “F*** you!,” and other abusive comments, which is always my sign for a job well done. So, maybe it goes without saying, these scored an evil rating of 5. Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of the finished product, but you can be assured they pretty much looked exactly like the regular ones. Just like this:

IMG_3695

I hope you all stay safe and warm this holiday season, and make sure to squeeze your loved ones tight.

6 comments

  1. First of all…Andes makes baking chips?? The wheels are turning! Secondly, this will be a perfect way to actually use the peppermint extract I specifically bought for my marshmallows but totally forgot to use!

    1. oooh, can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  2. pamasaurus · · Reply

    OMG, these look AMAZING! I have some candy cane kisses that I could sub for the andes mint chips. Oh! I feel a baking day coming on 😉

    1. That sounds fantastic, and would have a nice pop of color too! Let me know how they turn out 🙂 Pix, or it didn’t happen!

  3. These look amazing!

    1. Thanks, they were a HUGE hit over the holidays!

Leave a Reply

