Chocolate Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

If you haven’t tried this combination yet, get on it! (Truthfully, I hadn’t before this cake either.) A friend requested this cake for his birthday recently, so I dug up two tried and true recipes. The first, for the cake, was the Perfectly Chocolate Cake recipe.

Instead of cupcakes, I made two 9″ round cakes. Β (Bake them at 350ΒΊF for 30-35 minutes. Make sure to grease and flour the pans – use cocoa powder instead of flour, if you have enough.) I torted them and filled them with cream cheese frosting. Then I frosted the outside of the cake, and finished it with the leftover crumbs.

Super easy to make, and a crowd pleaser for sure.

Since I don’t think I’ve ever posted a basic cream cheese frosting recipe on my site (I couldn’t find one), here you go! Tried and true, enough for one layer cake or 24 cupcakes.

BASIC CREAM CHEESE FROSTING

  • 8oz cream cheese – room temp
  • 4oz unsalted butter – room temp
  • 3 cups powdered sugar (add more if frosting is too runny)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Cream together your cream cheese, butter, and vanilla. When creamy and smooth, add in the powdered sugar and mix on low until it’s incorporated enough that it won’t blow everywhere. If the frosting is too soft, you can add more powdered sugar, half a cup at a time.

If you need a simple and tasty combo for an upcoming event, this is it! I’ll modestly give it an evil rating of 3, but you’ll see…

6 comments

  1. That looks ridiculously perfect and delicious πŸ˜€

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    1. Why, thank you πŸ™‚ The birthday boy really enjoyed it!

  2. daisyandthefox · · Reply

    this looks sooooooooo amazing! πŸ™‚

  3. YUM. πŸ™‚

  4. This looks so amazingly delicious! Every time I come on to this blog I just end up feeling so hungry!

    1. Love hearing that πŸ™‚ Thanks!

Leave a Reply

