Cupcake Nuggets

You heard me.  You may recall that last week I posted about some tasty vanilla cupcakes, but I actually found that recipe after drooling over reading this nugget one, also from Cupcake Project.

I’m slightly terrified of boiling oil, but a friend assured me she was up for the task of frying, if I could supply the cupcakes. Did I mention she’s a terrible influence? She sent me the recipe in the first place!

We followed most of the directions from Cupcake Project, except that I just didn’t have the time to make cupcake breadcrumbs. Next time I’ll make the effort though, because they sound quite tasty – even on their own.

CUPCAKE NUGGETS – makes 24 nuggets

  • 4 cupcakes – we used vanilla
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • enough veggie oil for your fryer (we used a pot and a candy thermometer)
  • dipping sauce – we used black raspberry jelly

Start by cutting your nugget shapes from the cupcakes. Here’s a note – we made our nuggets about 2x the size of the ones in the reference post, so we only ended up with half the amount. Check out the original post to see how she suggests portioning them.

Then, whisk together your dry ingredients – flour, cinnamon, sugar, and baking powder. (This does not apply if you’re following the directions on Cupcake Project for cupcake croutons, which we didn’t.) In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg and buttermilk.

Fill your fryer or pot with oil according to the manufacturer’s directions. In my place, we filled a big bowl with an entire container of veggie oil. Heat the oil to 375ºF. (If you don’t have a fryer, I recommend a candy thermometer.)

While the oil is heating, it’s time to prepare the nuggets for frying. Dunk your nuggets, one at a time, into the egg mixture, then shake off any excess liquid. Move it to the dry bowl, and cover completely with the flour mixture. Then put it on a plate, and repeat with the rest of your nuggets. You don’t have to let the nugget completely soak in the egg (a la french toast), because it will get soggy and start falling apart. (Lesson learned.)

The directions say to fry on each side for 30 seconds, but I’ll admit we got a bit jumpy and probably cooked them a bit less. These browned really quickly, so we were worried we’d burned them. Next time, and there will be a next time, we won’t be so skittish!

Remove the fried nuggets from the oil. We put ours onto a paper towel-covered plate to drain the excess oil.

Then serve, warm, with dipping sauce.

These were a huge hit among the 3 of us. They were crispy and sweet on the outside, and the inside just dissolved on my tongue (could be from soaking them too long in the egg, eh?) But, damn, were they good. I can only imagine that as we improve our system for making them, they’ll taste even better in the future.

They’re for sure an evil rating of 5, because of both the danger in making and in eating these!

Any tips on frying for a newbie like me? Any other fryer recipes you recommend?

4 comments

  1. I think my fear of frying has kept me out of a lot of trouble so far…but this might push me over the edge and get me to start. My arteries thank you in advance 🙂

    1. I’m with you! But I’m getting bolder. I’m not sure it’s for the best. (Arterially speaking ;))

  2. pamasaurus · · Reply

    This looks amazing. Seriously. I try to stay away from fried foods for health reasons, but OMG. I think I have to make these.

    1. It’s a slippery slope, for sure, but I’d recommend at least trying them!

Leave a Reply

