Ultimate Vanilla Cupcakes

I cannot take credit for coming up with this cupcake recipe, but I will take full credit for executing it perfectly in my own kitchen. To read more about the original inception of this particular recipe, which included plenty of trial and error on the part of the blogger and readers of Cupcake Project, click on this link.

These were fantastic. I only made half a batch, and I’m providing that recipe below because doing the math was taxing (at 8am on Sunday), and I want to save you the trouble. I also adapted it a bit to compensate for what I was lacking in my pantry. For the full recipe, which yields 16 cupcakes, head over to the original post (linked above).

These cupcakes were so versatile that I prepared them two ways. You’ll be reading about those endeavors soon enough, but for now it’s time to make some vanilla cupcakes. Get excited!

ULTIMATE VANILLA CUPCAKES – makes 8 cupcakes

  • 1/2 cup vanilla sugar
  • 3/4 cup +2 Tbsp cake flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp unsalted butter, room temp
  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbsp sour cream
  • 2 Tbsp (one ounce) veggie oil
  • 1/2 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 80 ml milk (easier to measure than a fraction of a cup)

NOTES

  1. I used vanilla sugar that I had ready-made in my pantry, rather than splitting a new bean to mix with granulated sugar.
  2. If you don’t have cake flour – you can make your own! Cake flour is one cup of flour, minus one Tablespoon. Don’t fret, in its place you’ll add one Tablespoon of corn starch. Since I wasn’t using a full cup of cake flour, I used 3/4cup +1 Tbsp AP flour and 1 Tbsp of corn starch.
  3. Make sure to read through all the directions before you start making these. They don’t follow the creaming, eggs, then dry-wet-dry steps you’d expect. 

Preheat your oven to 350°F. Line 8 cupcake tins with papers.

Check in with Sous Chef Walker:

Combine your dry ingredients – cake flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar – in your mixing bowl. Whisk them together to aerate and combine. Then, add your butter and mix for a few minutes. You’ll end up with a fine crumb texture.

In a separate bowl, mix together your wet ingredients – egg, sour cream, oil, and vanilla. Do not add the milk just yet. Use a whisk to mix the ingredients until they’re smooth. Inhale deeply, because the smell is heavenly. Add to the dry ingredients and mix until almost completely incorporated.

Lastly, add your milk and mix until just combined. Your batter will be on the wetter side. Evenly distribute the batter into your lined tins. They’ll be slightly more than halfway filled.

Bake for 14-17 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. You will not be baking these until they’re golden brown, so make sure to start testing with a toothpick around 14 minutes. Mine needed about 16, but every oven is different.

Let cool in the tins for a bit, then remove to a wire rack to finish.

On their own, these were super tasty. Don’t forget to check back in to see the different ways I served them!

Do you have a tried and true vanilla cupcake recipe? I know this will be my go-to from now on!

3 comments

  1. They do look perfect… Absolutely perfect 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. morningmoon · · Reply

    I made this but it smells and tastes like pancake. The texture as well. I turned it into cake pops by adding cocoa powder and ground walnut, then dip into chocolate ganache. Definitely better!

    1. That sounds like a delicious idea, I’ll have to keep it in mind for next time! Would love to see pix!

Leave a Reply

