Blondies 2.0

Recently it occurred to me that when it comes to certain baked goods, I have a tendency to stick with recipes I already know and have used successfully in the past. The best example of this is my brownie recipe. They’re so good, I have no need or want to try any others. And sometimes, particularly if I don’t have much time, I just like making tried and true desserts.

Blondies are another story, as I haven’t really experimented much with them. Quite frankly I can’t find recipes for any on my site, and that needed changing. So when I saw these on Martha Stewart (as part of a “dog cake” recipe), I thought I’d give them a go. The basic recipe sounded fantastic, but I opted to 2.0 them by adding in some accessories – coconut and chocolate chips. (And since I did that, I cut back a bit on the sugar.) Feel free to make these your own by adding anything you think sounds good – nuts, dried fruit, butterscotch chips…

BLONDIES – Makes 20-24

  • 13 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened
  • 2.5 cups AP flour
  • 1.5 baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1+ 1/4 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1.5 cups toasted coconut (measured before toasted)
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350°F. Line a 9×13 pan with parchment, leave 2″ overhang on either side, and make sure to butter the parchment. (I didn’t butter the pan first, but had no problems getting them out. Make sure you do butter the unlined side of the pan.) While my oven was preheating, I put the coconut in a parchment-lined pan to toast up. Make sure you check and stir every couple of minutes. You can also do this in a dry pan on the stovetop.

Cream together your butter and brown sugar in a mixing bowl. While that’s going, in a separate bowl, whisk together your dry ingredients.

When the butter and sugar are light and fluffy, add in your eggs (at the same time is fine), and your vanilla, mixing until mostly combined.

Then, add in your dry goods and mix together until almost combined. You’ll stir it the rest of the way when you add in your coconut and chocolate chips.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, and use a spatula to gently spread it out. Rather than dragging it across the pan, I find it (somewhat) easier to press down on it, patting it from the middle outward, until it spreads.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. The color on mine wasn’t quite golden, so I left it in a bit longer, but then became paranoid they’d dry out since the toothpick was clean at 25. Use your best judgement.

Let them cool in the pan for half hour or so, then remove them to a cooling rack to cool all the way. Once these were cool, I cut them into 20 bars, but you could easily get 24. Then serve and enjoy.

I got great reviews for these, and I wouldn’t hesitate to make them again. The base recipe is so good that you don’t even need the coconut and chocolate chips, but I anticipate playing around with different mix-ins in the future anyway.

3 comments

  1. I know how you feel; some recipes are ‘the one’ and others are so unsure!
    These blondies look fantastic though 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. Yum! These look great! 🙂

    1. I heard nothing but good things about them. Even people who don’t particularly enjoy coconut enjoyed these!

Leave a Reply

