Dreamsicles

I went to a cookout this past weekend, and I’m sad that it was the last one of the summer. Boo :(. It was a great afternoon – my friends had scored picnic tables by the beach up in Malibu, and one of them had ordered a bushel and a half of blue crab, which he had shipped in from Maryland. The weather was sunny, albeit ridiculously windy, but the food was great, and we lucked out with friendly picnic table neighbors. One of them was a bartender, and we bartered some of our crab for drinks. It was just a lovely day, and I enjoyed feeling such a great sense of community.

The picture below doesn’t really allow you to see how giant that bucket was, or how many crab were in there. I believe there were 120. Everyone else on the beach came up to take pictures of them. It was quite a sight!

Since the main course was already taken care of, I’d offered to bring dessert. Shocking, I know. I was at a loss for what to bring, though since we’d be outdoors all day I figured cookies were the safest bet. Thanks to the internet, I was able to type “summer cookie recipes” into my browser and come up with all kinds of great recipes. The first link I clicked on, for Living Locurto, proved to be a treasure trove of recipes. Of the ones that immediately jumped out at me, and for which I already had all the ingredients on hand, was this recipe for Dreamsicles from Ladybird Ln. The rest have all been tucked away for another day.

This light, tasty, and easy-to-make cookie is reminiscent of the Creamsicle flavor that is quintessentially summery – oranges and cream. (Just like this cocktail. And this cupcake.) While the original recipe called for using a sugar cookie mix, I didn’t have any – so I just subbed in half the quantity of dry ingredients I use in my sugar cookies, while using the rest of the amounts as dictated on Ladybird Ln.

I didn’t use orange zest in these because I didn’t have any oranges on hand, and since it was listed as an optional ingredient. Next time, I will try to include some, if only for comparison’s sake.

DREAMSICLE COOKIES – makes about 30 cookies

  • 1+1/3 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup (one stick) unsalted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp orange extract
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp orange zest (optional)
  • orange food coloring (optional – to desired shade)

Preheat your oven to 350°F, and line cookie sheets with parchment.

Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. While that’s going, mix all your dry ingredients together in a medium-sized bowl and set aside. When the butter/sugar is ready – add in your egg and extracts and mix until just combined. Make sure to scrape the sides of the bowl. This is also a good time to add in food coloring, if you’re using it. I used 2 drops of pink (didn’t have red), and 3 of yellow. They ended up a faint peach color, but got the point across.

Next, add in your dry ingredients, and mix until they’re mostly incorporated. Then add in your white chocolate chips and stir those to evenly distribute. This will help incorporate your flour the rest of the way.

Scoop out little balls of dough, about the size of a walnut, or a heaping Tablespoon. I got 28 cookies out of this, but could have squeezed out an extra two by making the others slightly smaller. Don’t stress about it, they were good-sized cookies. The only thing I like to make sure of is that each cookie gets enough chips in it.

Once you’re ready, these will bake for 8-10 minutes. I couldn’t really tell if they were golden brown or anything, but I could see when they still looked raw, and I ended up leaving them in for 10 minutes. They came out perfectly – slightly crunchy on the outside, but chewy on the inside.

My friends raved about these. Even I was smitten. I was also shocked that just adding some orange extract and white chocolate chips could have such a drastic impact on a cookie. I guess when the base recipe has already been dubbed “the best damn sugar cookie (period),” it kind of sets the stage. Evil rating is for sure a 5 on these because people were sneaking them long before dessert time, and they were gone pretty quickly.

Summer may be over, but don’t let that stop you from making these cookies sometime soon! (And how cute are those robots?)

4 comments

  1. These certainly do looks rave worthy my friend 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. I really like those robots (was that a plate?)…and the crabs…and the cookies!

    1. haha! It’s actually scrap-booking paper. I stock up when Michael’s has sales 🙂

Leave a Reply

