Sauteed Peaches

It’s summertime, and fortunately stone fruit is in season, because I saw an episode of Chopped where someone made sauteed peaches with brown sugar and butter, and I had to immediately make it myself!

Since I was going to the store anyway, I grabbed some vanilla bean-flavored coconut milk ice cream. (I really do try to stay away from dairy!)

The recipe below reflects what I consider to be (a bit more than) one serving, since I was just making it for me. It’s very easily multiplied though!

SAUTEED PEACHES – serves 1

  • 1/2 peach – diced into bite-sized chunks
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 1/2 Tbsp brown sugar

Melt the butter in a small skillet, throw in the peaches and brown sugar, and let them cook until fork tender, about 5 minutes. I made sure to stir and evenly coat everything. (Next time, I might let them cook a little longer to get mushier – but that’s a personal preference.) If you’re using it to top some ice cream, let it cool a bit first so you don’t have an immediate ice cream soup.

This was pretty tasty – though I think the coconut flavor in the ice cream was a bit clashy with the peaches. And yes, using butter in the sauté counteracts anything I was trying to accomplish with non-dairy ice cream, but I digress. (I’d considered using my coconut oil to saute, and am glad I opted out because that would have been coconut central, and not in a good way!)

Anyway – this is a simple, summer recipe you can make easily… and without having to turn on your oven! Feel free to search the web for similar recipes that include alcohol!

4 comments

  1. Mmmm…. Peaches…..

  2. I’m digging it with ice cream 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. Wow, this looks really good! I would never have thought of making them this way, but I might have to try!!!

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

    1. For some reason cooked fruit always sounds weird to me – but if they do it on tv, and I’m watching… 😉 Let me know what you think if you try it!

Leave a Reply

