4th of July Lemonade Pie

I’ll make this quick since I meant to post it in plenty of time for you to make it today before any barbecues!

This pie needs 8 hours to set in the freezer (preferably overnight, but I’m sure you could do 6 in a pinch!), so even if you can’t make it today, you can make it again sometime this summer. I know I will.

I got this recipe from Food Network, and added my own little patriotic flair. To cut down on prep time, and having to actually bake anything, I bought a pre-made graham cracker crust, but you can use your own favorite recipe if you want to go from scratch. I’m amending the original recipe slightly because I had a LOT of filling left over. (Don’t worry, I froze it in ramekins so I can have some tomorrow too.)

4th OF JULY LEMONADE PIE – makes one pie

  • One 9″ graham cracker crust

For the Filling:

  • 1.5 cups heavy cream
  • 1 – 14oz can of sweetened condensed milk, chilled
  • 1 – 6oz can frozen lemonade concentrate (I could only find 12oz)

For extra Patrioticness (Patrioticity?):

  • 1/2 cup blueberries – pureed
  • 1/2 cup strawberries – pureed

Whip your heavy cream until stiff peaks form. I find it helpful to put the metal mixing bowl in the freezer beforehand to help it stay cold. While that’s going, combine your sweetened condensed milk with the lemonade concentrate. Do NOT defrost the lemonade. You don’t want this pie getting liquidy.

Fold your whipped cream into the lemon mixture, making sure to keep it as airy as you can. I added a bit at a time. For a regular lemonade pie, you can just pour this mixture into the pie crust once the whipped cream is incorporated. However, I wanted a little red, white, and blue action…

Add 1/2 cup of the lemonade mixture to both the pureed blueberries and the strawberries. (1/2 cup to each) If you leave the berries raw, they’ll harden to a different consistency and it’ll be a bit more solid to get through.

Pour the blueberry mixture into the pie dish first, followed by the plain lemonade (a much larger portion than either of the fruit layers), and top it off with the strawberry. I had a ton of the lemon filling leftover even after piling it on, so I saved it as I mentioned above. In an ideal world, you’d have time to let each layer freeze for a bit before adding the others so that they wouldn’t mix. But, if you do it gently, you should be fine.

Pop that pie into the freezer overnight, and only take it out about 15 minutes before serving so it can soften slightly. This received rave reviews from everyone, and was so easy to make. The red, white, and blue came out really cute, forgive my dark pictures, and I fully intend to make a strawberry lemonade pie in the future. As for this, you can make the fruit layers thick, if you like, but I really wanted to highlight the lemon. When I do the strawberry lemonade, I’ll probably go 50/50.

Happy Independence Day to all my fellow Americans!

5 comments

  1. Looks delicious! I always look to your blog to find inspiring dessert recipes when I need them! My favorite is still “Just your basic awesome brownies” but that’s just the fear in me of attempting a new dessert! Keep the recipes coming 🙂

    1. It’s still one of my favorites too, and that’s what I made for a bbq today! (the brownies, that is)

  2. This pie is so perfect for occasion my friend 😀
    Delicious and beautiful!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. I love any dessert recipe that doesn’t require an oven over the summer. This sounds so perfectly refreshing (to make and to eat!)!

Leave a Reply

