Orange Custard Pie

Making this pie was also a direct result of my excessive orange purchase at the farmer’s market. I made this twice in that same week, because it’s that freaking good. Another thing to note is that aside from oranges, I’d also been on a Chinese Five Spice kick. (It’s reminiscent of apple or pumpkin pie spice.) Basically, it’s screaming to be incorporated into a dessert, and I thought it would be a great pairing with the oranges.

I was looking to make something similar to a lemon meringue pie, but obviously sub in oranges instead since I had so many, and I came across this recipe on AllRecipes.com. The only modifications I made were that I used a graham cracker crust (recipe below), and rather than using meringue as a topping, I made a spiced whipped cream. I’m giving you different baking directions than the ones I used, and you’ll see why in the pictures below.

This pie came with me to an outdoor barbeque at a friend’s place by the beach, and it was such a tasty summery treat. All but one slice went, which was great because I got to a) eat it the next day and b) take a picture of it. And it was so good, and I still had 10 oranges left, that I made it again the next weekend for another dinner with friends. These are the times where it’s super handy I have a citrus juicer, which is often left neglected in my pantry.

GRAHAM CRACKER CRUST

  • 12 graham crackers, crushed into sand
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Chinese Five Spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 5 Tablespoons unsalted butter – melted

ORANGE CUSTARD FILLING

  • 3 egg yolks, beaten
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 Tbsp AP flour
  • 1 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 Tbsp orange zest
  • 1 cup orange juice (I squeezed my own, I’m sure store-bought will work as well!)

SPICED WHIPPED CREAM

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 Tbsp powdered sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Chinese Five Spice

Preheat your oven to 350ºF.

To make the crust, pulverize the graham crackers into sand, and stir in the sugar, salt, and five spice. When that’s evenly mixed, add the melted butter and stir until evenly coated. Pour the crumbs into a pie plate, and use the butt of a measuring cup to flatten it out evenly on the bottom and up the sides. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, take your egg yolks and sugar and beat them together until it lightens in color and thickens. (This takes a few minutes.)

Next, add in your flour and stir until evenly distributed. Follow it up with your orange juice, zest, and melted butter, stirring until thoroughly mixed together. It will be liquidy.

Pour your filling into your prepared pie crust, and bake for 45-50 minutes, or until the custard is set.

The original recipe called for starting at a higher heat, then lowering it, and no mention of covering the top (I guess that’s where the meringue comes in handy), so I ended up with a burned crust. I scraped the crispier parts away, and it was salvageable. I recommend covering the pie with foil if it appears to be browning too quickly before it’s done baking.

For the five spice whipped cream, combine the ingredients in a tall bowl and whip on high for a few minutes until the cream has thickened completely.

Once the pie has cooled, serve it with the whipped cream and enjoy! This dessert was insane. I think I fell in love. (Almost as madly as when I made these muffins.) Everyone had rave reviews, and particularly noticed the hint of the five spice in there. They paired so well together, you should definitely try it as an enhancement to a regular graham cracker crust.

Let me know if you have your own variation on this pie, or have any other orange recipes, as I will likely hit up the farmer’s market again!

6 comments

  1. This pie looks incredibly moist, crumbly and sweet 😀
    Yum!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    1. it was ridiculously tasty!

  2. YUM. I haven’t thought of using Chinese five-spice in baking — it’s so strongly associated with meat in my mind, particularly Mongolian lamb. *Goes to cupboard to sniff* But I can see that it would be lovely, particularly with citrus fruit!

    1. Strangely, I haven’t yet used it on meat, but thanks for the tip. I’ve added it (along with some orange juice when I was still trying to use that up) to some fish and shrimp. Yummers.

  3. I wish oranges were cheaper over here! I might have to keep this in mind when winter comes around! I see your stand mixer is back 🙂

    1. I was quite surprised they were “in season” myself, because I associate them with winter too. My mixer isn’t quite back, I pick her up on Saturday. I used my fantastic hand mixer which has a bunch of interchangeable parts (whisk, immersion blender, chopper attachment). Another kitchen tool I use for everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

