Farmer’s Market Pie

So this pie is just a slight variation on the Orange-Scented Strawberry Pie I made for Easter. As the name indicates, it was inspired by my purchases at a local farmer’s market (the one in Studio City, for you locals). I went with a friend on Sunday a couple of weeks ago, and we picked up tons of produce – certainly more than I could eat before it would spoil – so we came straight home and tossed a chunk of it into this pie.

Farmer’s markets can be like a big box store in a way (think Costco)… Do I need 30lbs of oranges? No. But for $3, why not? Two packages of raspberries for $5, or one for $3? Let’s save the dollar and get twice the fruit. It’s healthy, you’ll eat it all. (False.) It was great being there with a friend though, because we split both the cost and the bounty. Also because he’s a wonderful person.

For this particular pie, here are the changes we made to the original recipe:

  • We subbed a container of raspberries in for about 1/3 of the strawberries
  • We used brown sugar for the heck of it
  • We used orange juice instead of lemon because I had purchased [aforementioned] heaps of oranges and no lemons

That’s all. This recipe is great and pretty versatile – I’m fairly certain you could sub any fruit in or out of it and it would still turn out just as yummy.

Oh, and on a related note, you might be seeing more pie recipes coming up. This is for a couple of reasons. #1, I bought a gorgeous new pie plate at a crafts fair, and am making the purchase worth my while. #2, My stand mixer broke and pies are the easiest thing to make without one.

4 comments

  1. What a great twist on that much remembered pie 😀
    Simply delicious my friend, wow!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. Ashleigh Nichols · · Reply

    If you are into pies this summer I must buy you a pie bird…not a necessaty at all…but so much fun to add to pie baking! Plus it will look really good for your pics! also…then I might get some of your pie to eat!!! bonus!

    1. Haha, you don’t have to buy one for me, but I’ll still share my pie. It might be worth the investment if more pie is in my future though, you are correct…

Leave a Reply

