Microwave Mug Cake

I found a recipe for mug cake like this recipe years ago, and threatened to make it, but never made good. One night when I was fiending for something dessert-y, and coincidentally trolling Pinterest, I found this Salted Caramel version on Babble and thought it’d be a brilliant quick fix. (You know, once I  modified it slightly.) The recipe takes minutes to throw together, and total “bake” time is a minute and a half.

I will admit that my cake came out a bit dry, but that won’t deter me from trying again and likely zapping it for less time. Or maybe I’ll finally try Fatty Dumpling‘s version that I still have in my archives from 2 years ago, and for some reason didn’t use yet. (Blame Pinterest. I’m a very easy target on which to impart impulsive ideas.)

Point is, make yourself some cake.

MICROWAVE CHOCOLATE MUG CAKE – makes one mug cake

  • 4 Tbsp all purpose flour (1/4 cup)
  • 4 Tbsp sugar (1/4 cup)
  • 3 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg – beaten
  • 3 Tbsp milk
  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 2 salted caramels (optional – I only had regular caramels, it was fine!)

Now, pay close attention to these directions… Put everything into a bowl, mix it together, then pour it into a mug. (Or as Fatty writes, you can even be super lazy and just mix it straight in your mug!)

Super easy, right? No preheating or anything! As for the caramels, the directions said to drop them into the center of the mixture. Now, maybe I’m missing something – but I didn’t quite get what that meant. Just drop them on top of the batter, in the center of the mug? That’s probably what it was, but I pressed mine down into the batter a bit. The caramel ended up sinking to the bottom during baking, but it was still deliciously molten. And stupidly I sprinkled some salt on top to create a salted caramel effect. I won’t do that again. Remember how the caramel sank to the bottom? Yeah, didn’t bring any of the salt with it…

Anyway – microwave your mug on high for 90 seconds (a minute and a half), and voila. As I mentioned earlier, my cake was a bit dry, so I think I’d try 1:15 and add the extra time if it was too raw. And not all microwaves are created equal anyway.

So if you’re short on time before you start going crazy without dessert, this is a handy recipe to keep… well, on hand. I’ve only ever seen it for chocolate, but please share if you’ve found any others you’ve used successfully!

10 comments

  1. This mug cake looks insane!!!!
    That caramel must give it that step up 🙂
    I was missing your posts my friend!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    1. Aww, thanks. I’m trying not to be so bad about it, but I got a new job and it’s taking up most of my time 😉 Haven’t quite gotten to the baking for my coworkers phase yet, wanna save something to build to!

  2. Oh my gosh. I had no idea this was possible. It seems so wrong, but yet so right!

    1. I know. It’s really one of the more dangerous discoveries that I’ve made…

  3. Sometimes cake in a mug is just what’s required. I could use one now.

    1. Why spend time not eating cake in a mug when you could be eating cake in a mug?

  4. This looks so sinful it should be illegal! 😛 But I will try it out this weekend. Wish me luck! – L

  5. I just made this in my favorite crazy cat lady mug. Perfect for a lazy weeknight dessert. The only issue with mixing everything in the cup is that you risk flour pockets on the bottom of the mug. Otherwise it was awesome!

    1. That’s a good point… I don’t think that happened to me, but a mug doesn’t allow much room for mixing. Meanwhile, I found a brownie version of this, can’t wait to try that one too!

Leave a Reply

