Cheese Latkes

I’m literally eating these for breakfast as I type this. It’s not  a breakfast recipe, per se, but they are pancakes, and I wanted to give them a whirl. I’m drooling to think how great they’d taste with brisket. I came across this recipe on Kosherista while I was looking for new Passover recipes to try. The recipe at the link serves four, while below I’ve quartered it to make just enough for one. Still ended up with too much for me – about 4 sizable pancakes!

These are ridiculously good, but I need to work on my execution. (Mom’s the latke expert in the family.) I had a hard time keeping them in pancake form, as you’ll see below, because the cheese gets melty and they stick to the pan, but it didn’t affect how they tasted in anyway. It just looks like more of  a hash. I didn’t expect the recipe to yield so many either, or I would have used a larger pan. (Next time! As there will definitely be a next time.)

CHEESE LATKES – Serves 1-2

  • 1/2 cup matzah meal (I didn’t want to make the extra purchase, so I ground 1+1/4 sheets in my mini processor)
  • 4oz cottage cheese
  • one egg
  • pinch of sugar
  • veggie oil for frying
  • applesauce or sour cream for topping

Here is the rundown of the directions without my personal experience thrown in:

In a bowl, mix together your cheese, matzah, egg, and sugar. Heat some oil in a large frying pan. Drop spoonfuls of batter into the pan, and flip when they’re lightly browned. Once they’re golden, remove from oil and let drain onto a paper towel (over a plate!).

Here’s what happened with me:

The directions are totally straightforward. The problem I ran into, as mentioned above, was that the cheese started melting and so the latkes then stuck to the frying pan. It made it difficult to flip them over and still keep them in pancake form. That being said, I will use a larger pan next time, and literally just drop spoonfuls instead of making silver-dollar size pancakes. I seriously thought I’d end up with a pancake or two, even as I was spooning out the batter. (Give me a break, I’ve been up since 5am.)

The results? Awkward-looking, but super tasty, fried cheese pancakes. Oil makes everything taste better. Top these with applesauce or sour cream, whatever your preference, and you’re all set. Oh, also, make sure to eat them while they’re still hot. They lose a little somethin’-somethin’ as they cool off.  And, again, I bet these would be amazing with brisket – provided you don’t keep Kosher kosher, of course.

And if you’re wondering about the discrepancy in pictures, “batch” 2 turned out much better than the first. So that’s why there’s a single, normal-looking pancake 🙂

I’d never had these latkes before today, so who knows what else I’m missing out on. Do you have any different recipes for Passover, or otherwise?

6 comments

  1. Awkward to flip or not you have me in when you say fried cheese pancakes 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    1. Yup, that was the draw for me too 😉

  2. My personal philosophy is: who cares what it looks like, as long as it tastes good (because we all know, it was supposed to look like that…). These sound pretty awesome!

    1. haha, I like it. I will adopt said philosophy myself because it was quite delish!

  3. Nice for breakfast I bet….

    1. they were super tasty!

Leave a Reply

