Cookies and Cream Frosting

I wanted to shake things up a bit recently, and not just use plain ol’ vanilla frosting for my yummy chocolate cupcakes. I’d recently purchased some Oreos, thanks to some effective ad campaigns for its 100th birthday, and in a desperate attempt not to eat the entire package all by myself, I decided to incorporate them into a cookies and cream frosting. To enhance the Oreo goodness, I reworked this Oreo filling as a frosting, for some extra authenticity in flavor.

The following recipe should be good for a dozen cupcakes’ worth of frosting, however I somehow made waaaay too much for 2 dozen, so what do I know? I’m sure you’ll find some resourceful use for the leftovers.

COOKIES AND CREAM FROSTING – for a dozen-ish cupcakes

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup vegetable shortening
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2-3 cups powdered sugar (can use less if frosting is too stiff)
  • 1/2 cup crushed Oreo cookies – about 8 cookies (reserve 1-2 Tablespoons, or make a bit extra for garnish)

Cream together your butter, shortening and vanilla. I also added in the filling I scraped from the cookies before I crushed them. Add in your powdered sugar and mix until incorporated. If the frosting is too stiff, add milk or cream by the tablespoon. Lastly, add in your cookie crumbs and mix until evenly distributed.

Here is a note – If you plan to pipe out pretty frosting patterns on your cupcakes, make sure to completely pulverize your cookies into teeny-tiny crumbs. If you’re going for the chunkier, “I like biting into a piece of cookie while eating frosting” kind of mouthfeel, just be aware that the chunks will get caught in your piping tip – even if you’re using the widest one you own. (Speaking from experience). I used the “heap spoonful of frosting onto the cupcake, then spread out with a butter-knife” method.

Anyway – once you’ve frosted your cupcakes, sprinkle additional oreo crumbs or chunks onto the top as a garnish. In my case, it looks like the dirt in a garden, but I’m totally diggin’ it. The flower is royal icing, and I didn’t forget that I promised to make up a little tutorial for you about that. For realsies.

These cupcakes got rave reviews from my friends, and since I made too many (as per usual), many people took some home as well. Let me know how you like this frosting, or if you have any tips for me for next time.

4 comments

  1. Oh. My. God. There really is a god.

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. Looks really delicious. Oishii desu ne!

  3. That frosting looks great!

  4. […] 12. My Baking Empire – Lots of fabulous recipes, this is one I’m keeping in the back of my mind to make sometime soon – Cookies And Cream Frosting […]

Leave a Reply

