Creamsicle – The Cocktail(sicle?)

I just had a pretty significant birthday pass, thank you to all of you who helped me celebrate, and one of the ways I wanted to make my party stand out was by offering a signature cocktail. (That’s in addition to the decorations and party favors I had, which you can read about on They Call Me Crafty.)

I put a lot of thought into this cocktail. First of all, it would have to be something that I, myself, would like to drink. I just can’t put something out there because it seems cool if I’m not personally going to partake. Secondly, I wanted it to be something that reflected me and my personality, and that would fit with my whimsical party theme. My party them, in case you’re wondering, was whimsy. It was comprised mainly of the colors teal and purple, with hints of spring green and orange. Pretty much all the colors of my apartment.

I’d heard about Whipped Cream vodka and how, when added to ginger ale, it creates a cream soda flavor. I wanted to take this one step further, you know me, so I decided add my own flair in the form of orange-flavored simple syrup, for a Creamsicle effect. It totally worked! I’m not surprised, of course, because I had a test-drink (or two) to verify, but this drink was a big hit with everyone else at the party.

ORANGE-FLAVORED SIMPLE SYRUP– makes one cup

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons orange extract

Follow the directions from my simple syrup post linked above, and you too can enjoy this delightfully whimsical drink. And check out the super fancy sign that I hung over the bar with the recipe and directions:

Just disregard that arbitrary and irrelevant number you see at the top of the recipe… ๐Ÿ˜‰

The best part was seeing everyone drink these out of their custom-made sippy cups!

6 comments

  1. Happy happy birthday ๐Ÿ˜€
    I may not be able to make a cocktail but definitely want some orange syrup in my cakes! Thanks ๐Ÿ˜€
    Hope you had an awesome day!!!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Traditional Lemon Meringue Tart

  2. That drink sounds delicious….especially in a sippy cup! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Happy Birthday!! Always read your blog…it was a fun surprise to see that cute picture of you 2! Hope all is well ๐Ÿ™‚ Erin

  4. Yum! I’ve been looking for boozy popsicle ideas…thanks!

    1. haha, Boozy Popsicle, I love it ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

