Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies

In my time as a blogger, I have grown to appreciate the people who visit my page and take the time to leave comments that let me know they were here. Anything from “this looks great,” to a tip on something that might have tripped me up is exciting, because it lets me know people are reading and that I am, in some way, reaching them. To one-up that feeling, I love it even more when someone reaches out to me to share a recipe they think I might like. So when Derek of Mediaudio sent me a couple of his family recipes to try out, because he thought I would enjoy them, I couldn’t help but smile.

This recipe is for chewy, cakey peanut butter cookies, and received great reviews from quite a few (self-proclaimed) peanut butter cookie connoisseurs. I’ll let you try this recipe and decide for yourself. One thing I really loved is that the recipe calls for crunchy peanut butter instead of creamy, so I didn’t have to chop any extra peanuts!

CHEWY PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES – makes about 4 dozen

  • 2+1/4 cups AP flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 sticks (one cup) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1+1/2 cups crunchy peanut butter (can use creamy as well)
  • 1 – 3.4oz package instant vanilla pudding mix (don’t use sugar free)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 2 eggs

Preheat your oven to 325 F. You don’t need to grease or line your cookie sheets, but feel free to use parchment paper.

Combine your dry ingredients – flour, baking soda, and pudding powder – in a medium bowl, and set aside. Then, cream your butter and sugar together in the mixer until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and extracts, and beat until just incorporated.

Next, fold in your peanut butter until blended evenly, and then add in your flour and stir it gently to incorporate.

Then, drop the dough by the tablespoon (about a walnut sized cookie ball) unto your ungreased cookie sheets about one inch apart.

Bake for 8-10 minutes. I noticed that the cookies didn’t brown too much, even at the upper end of the time limit. Let them cool on the pan for a bit before removing them to a rack to cool completely. While transferring to the cooling rack,  I observed that the cookies were more delicate and prone to breaking than they seemed, so be gentle.

The one thing I noticed about these cookies, and that others remarked on, was the lack of fork-made hash marks on the top. The recipe didn’t call for them, and since I was following a family recipe submitted by a fellow blogger, I wanted to test the recipe in its true form. After the fact – I also felt that these cookies mightn’t have been quite so fluffy, cakey, or chewy if they’d been squashed down with forks before baking. Of course, the best way to find out is to try it – so next time I make these I’ll test it out, or you can let me know how they turn out if you do it first! I also likely made each cookie larger than the recipe called for, so that’s another variable I’ll test a different day.

But for now, this recipe as-is should certainly please the peanut butter lovers!

3 comments

  1. That dough looks gorgeous – I can taste it already 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Fresh Fruit Tart

  2. beccysfoodies · · Reply

    i am a personal peanut fan, so i really can’t wait to try! 🙂

  3. I won’t give my opinion because it will obviously be biased (Mediaudio is my husband), but I will thank you for your pictures of the process. They bring to mind a memory I will never forget. One night coming home from a class, I found Derek conducting a cooking show of sorts in our living room with our merely months old son as the sole audience member. We had these huge ottomans and he covered them with towels and had all the ingredients and bowls and everything right there. It was a huge mess really, but the cookies were good and the memory even better.

    Thanks again for featuring his recipe. We enjoy your blog and look forward to your next experiments!

Leave a Reply

