Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

I was inspired to make these last weekend, in addition to the corn muffins, because the Giants also had a breakfast game. I didn’t know our full regular crowd wouldn’t be there, so I made a dozen (well, a baker’s dozen), but it worked out just fine with everyone getting to have more than one.

I modified this recipe that I found on The Joy of Baking, because I think that brown sugar belongs in all fall treats. There. I said it. (But you can use what you prefer – or have on hand.)

PUMPKIN CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS – Makes a baker’s dozen (13)

  • 1.5 cups AP flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temp
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup solid packed pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350F. Line 12 (I had batter for 13, probably because I distributed it sillily) muffin tins with papers.

Cream together your butter and brown sugar until it becomes light and fluffy. While that’s going, combine all of your dry ingredients in a bowl – flour, baking soda, pumpkin pie spice, and salt.

When the butter and sugar are sufficiently fluffed, add in your eggs one at a time and beat well. I opted to add in my vanilla with the 2nd egg. (Don’t forget to scrape down the sides of the bowl!)

Then, using the dry-wet-dry method, add in your pumpkin and dry ingredients in 3 parts, starting and ending with the dry.

Before the 3rd part (dry) is completely incorporated, so as not to over-mix, add your chocolate chips and stir them until evenly distributed. Then, divide up your batter among your pre-lined muffin tins.

Bake for 18-22 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Your house will smell amazing, btw, if you didn’t already know. Just a note – I had to use the upper end of the time limit for these because, although they looked done outside, the inside was still raw. Just make sure you test them before pulling them from the oven.

Let them set in the pan for a bit before removing the muffins to a wire rack to finish cooling, then get your breakfast on! These were really good – more like cupcakes than muffins, really – and I’ll give them an evil rating of 4 because it’s like having dessert for breakfast. (Plus… most people couldn’t stop at one.)

This is the perfect muffin for autumn, and you could probably even make them with any leftover Halloween chocolate, like M&Ms, instead of chips. (Who’s kidding who? Leftover Halloween candy, not possible. Silly Jessie.) Enjoy!

5 comments

  1. These look moist and delicious – nice work 🙂

  2. Jessica Gardner · · Reply

    Any thoughts on making them gluten free? Now that I found out I have a gluten intolerance, I just bought gluten free flour and xanthan gum but i’m not sure how to substitute them…

  3. definitely making these this weekend! they look so yummy!

  4. O, these sound delicious! thanks for recipe..i will print this recipe up, as about to plant a dwarf pumpkin vine at my new Home…exciting!!

  5. Jessica Gardner · · Reply

    UPDATE – I wanted to let you/your gluten-free readers know that I substituted King Arthur’s Multipurpose gluten free flour in for the exact flour amount in this recipe, added 1/2 tsp of Xanthan Gum and they came out AWESOME! My favorite gluten free baking recipe to date! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

