Corn Muffins

One of my favorite things about living in LA during football season, as I’ve probably posted about before, is that we have so many breakfast games. I really do enjoy watching football while eating breakfast, though I haven’t quite pinpointed why. Maybe it just feels right rolling out of bed and lazing around for 3.5 hours watching a game until you’re ready to start your day. When a game starts later, I usually feel like I have to entertain myself until I watch, which amounts to wasting time until kickoff. With breakfast games, you get them done with early and can get on with your day. Unless, of course, your team has lost…

Anyway, last weekend my Miami Hurricanes had a breakfast game, so some friends and I went to another fan’s house to eat breakfast and watch our team. Since it was a pot luck, I decided to make muffins, and these corn muffins were the right fit. I think corn muffins go with anything – they’re sweet, but not too cupcakey, and I love the texture and mouth-feel of the cornmeal. Perfect with bacon and eggs! (Not to mention, SUPER quick and easy to make.)

I found this recipe on AllRecipes.com, where I’ve found lots of great recipes. I always get the feeling that they’re recipes from real people, passed down through the generations. I mean a recipe is a recipe, but when it hasn’t changed in 50 years, and still tastes great, you know it’s legit. Of course, this didn’t stop me from making some minor tweaks… it’s one of the rare cases where I added more sugar to the recipe.

CORN MUFFINS – makes 12

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup milk

Preheat your oven to 350F and prep a muffin pan with liners.

In a large bowl, you don’t need a mixer for this if you don’t have one, combine all your dry ingredients – corn meal, flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.

Add your wet ingredients – egg, butter, and milk – and stir gently to combine. You don’t want to over-mix this, but make sure you get everything incorporated, so make sure to scrape down the sides and along the bottom of the bowl too.

Distribute batter evenly between the 12 muffin liners.

Bake for 20-22 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Then let them rest in the pan for a few minutes before removing them to let them cool completely.

Next step… Enjoy! These were done perfectly (if I do say so myself) –  the outside was  a bit crunchy, but the inside was nice and soft. The only bad thing about them was that the dogs liked them too – a pup named Jelly snatched one off someone’s plate! It was quite a compliment 🙂 Since these are super quick to make, and there’s hardly any prep time or cooking time before you’re enjoying one in your belly, you should keep these in mind for your next breakfast game!

PS – please accept my apology for the electric yellow batter in the preceding pictures… I was just trying to lighten them up because I shot them at night, and that’s what happened. Don’t be alarmed if your batter is a perfectly healthy shade of pale yellow.

One comment

  1. These look so simple and delish!
    I would definitely make these for breakfast slathered with some jam 🙂

Leave a Reply

