Apple Spice Cupcakes

I know, I know, you’ve missed me. Look, it gets hot here in the summer and that translates to me not feeingl like doing a dang thing. The great thing is that suddenly it became fall here! I don’t know what happened – last Sunday I’m out on the tennis court getting a sunburn in October, and a few days later we have a ridiculous rainstorm and the temperature drops by 20 degrees. Not to fret, all you Angelenos, it’s supposed to be back in the high 90s again by Wednesday. And I wonder why I keep getting sick…

Anyhoo, this post isn’t about me, it’s about delicious Apple Spice Cupcakes! I made these for a 30th birthday barbecue yesterday, and they were fabulous. I was inspired by this post I found from Feed the People stashed in my recipe archives from September 2010, and it was about time I made them.

I had bought a package of caramels about Ā a month ago in anticipation of autumn weather and flavors, and I’d been itching to use them in a recipe. I got the idea of caramel frosting in my head, and these cupcakes seemed like they’d be the perfect vehicle. (The frosting recipe is in the next post!)

These cupcakes are really simple, and they will make your home smell fantastic and autumnal. I have adapted this recipe slightly because once I tried a bite of the finished cupcake I felt they were super sweet and didn’t need as much brown sugar (one cup) as the recipe called for. (The super sweet frosting on top didn’t help.) Since I also realize that I (surprisingly) have a much lower tolerance for sweet things than most people, because everyone else loved these as is and didn’t think they were overly sweetened – I would tell you to make them as you see fit!

APPLE SPICE CUPCAKES – makes 12

  • 8 Tbsp (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, room temp
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup applesauce (I used unsweetened)
  • 1.5 cups AP flour
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1.5 tsp apple pie spice (if you don’t have it, see original recipe for substitute)
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Preheat your oven to 350F and prep 12 muffin tins with cupcake liners.

Cream together your butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Then add in your egg and vanilla and beat until combined.

Using the dry-wet-dry method, alternate adding half of your dry ingredients (flour, spices, salt, baking powder), then the applesauce, then the rest of your dry mixture – beating in between each addition until combined. (Don’t overmix on the first dry addition, just get most of the flour mixed in and the applesauce will take care of the rest.)

Divide your batter evenly among the 12 muffin tins and bake for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let the cupcakes cool in the tin for 5-10 minutes before removing them to a rack to cool completely.

Part one was super easy, wasn’t it? These cupcakes looked and smelled fantastic. I even tried one before I put the frosting on just to be sure. (And another afterwards, obvs.) I’d give them an evil rating of 4 the way I made them originally, sickeningly sweet but they have applesauce in them so they’re not THAT bad, right?

Top with the frosting of your choice, but stay tuned for my next post about my Caramel Buttercream.

One comment

  1. Wow these look delicious šŸ™‚
    I’ve only got 1-2 apple recipes on my blog so this will definitely be tried šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

