Marble Brownies

I was looking for something new, fun, exotic, and sexy to make this week for a dinner party, but I also wanted something that would be easy and nearly foolproof to make. (This is me in summer laziness mode, hence all my no-bake recipes of late, and lack of new recipes in general.) What’s one of my favorite standby recipes? These brownies. What can I do to enhance them past their already flavorful existence? Why, just open up a pack of Philly Cream Cheese!

This recipe had been taunting me from the inside of every cream cheese box I’d opened, probably, in the past year. I saved the box tops as a reminder, but eventually would clean house and tell myself I’d just use the one on the next box. As fate would have it, when I bought cream cheese this week and finally want to make these, that recipe is no longer inside! Fortunately, I found it easily on the Kraft website.

The brownie recipe calls for any brownie batter that bakes in a 13×9″ pan, so I used my favorite, as linked above. However, feel free to use your prized recipe, or a 19-21 oz box mix.

The recipe for the cream cheese marble topping is below. It definitely adds something fantastic to these already delightful brownies, but doesn’t add more than a few extra minutes prep time, so why not try to make them?

MARBLE BROWNIES – makes 24

  • 1 prepared brownie batter for 9×13″ pan
  • 1 8oz package Philly Cream Cheese (it is their recipe, after all)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Preheat your oven according to the directions for your brownies, not just the 350 recommended on the recipe site. In this case, mine were baked at 325F. Make your brownie batter and put it in your prepared baking dish.

To make the topping – beat the cream cheese in the bowl of a mixer. When it’s smooth, add in the sugar and beat  until incorporated. You’ll need to scrape the sides of the bowl.

Then add in your egg and vanilla and beat until mixed in.

Add the cream cheese mixture to the top of the brownie batter by the spoonful. Then, using a knife, swirl it in. I found this to be easier said than done because the brownie batter was pretty thick. Do your best with this. I did one round of swirl, then had enough of the cream cheese mix to put more on top and try again. The picture on the Kraft site doesn’t look nearly as marbled as what I was going for, so there’s no wrong way to do it, only a delicious one.

Bake the brownies per the directions in your recipe – I baked mine for 25 mins so they were cooked through and the cream cheese was lightly browned.

Make sure these cool completely before you try to cut them. Then enjoy!

They don’t need to be refrigerated, in fact that would probably dry them out, and I can vouch for the fact that they still taste just as fresh at room temp at least 2 days later. (NomNom) Please give these a chance to add an extra kick to your favorite brownies!

I’m also giving these an evil rating of 5, because the brownies are pretty dangerous on their own, but with the cheesecake-like topping, I couldn’t just have one… or three… or five…

Leave a Reply

