Strawberry Cupcakes

Strawberries have been “in season” recently in Southern California since we’ve been having some freak hot weather lately. Couple that with finding a great blackberry cupcake post on Starting to Simmer, one of my recent competitors in the Mystery Box Cupcake Challenge over on Sweetest Kitchen, and you have a recipe for cupcake magic.

Since in her cupcakes she used blackberry puree, and my substitution of strawberry had rave reviews, I’m sure you can sub in any berry (or maybe any fruit puree) you’d like to flavor these.

STRAWBERRY CUPCAKES – Makes 12

  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 6 Tbsp unsalted butter, room temp
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup fruit puree (I used strawberry) – reserve an additional 2 Tbsp for your frosting

Preheat your oven to 350ºF and line 12 muffin tins with paper.

Make your strawberry puree by processing about 6oz of strawberries. I used about 5 large ones out of a one-pound container.

In a small bowl, mix together your dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, and salt. In your mixer cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Then add the eggs one at a time making sure to mix well after each one.

Whisk together your milk and vanilla.

Add half your dry ingredients into the mixer and mix until just combined with the butter and sugar. Then add in your wet ingredients – the milk, vanilla, and strawberry puree – and mix. Then add the rest of your dry ingredients, scraping the sides of the bowl as necessary, until the batter comes together.

Divide the batter evenly among the tins and bake for 12-15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. I would start checking at the lower end of that range.

Let the cupcakes rest in the pan for a bit before turning them out to a wire rack to cool completely. A bit of warning, these cupcakes seemed very dense after baking and were so moist that I had a hard time getting them out of the cupcake tins. Just a heads up for you so you don’t find yourself frustrated!

STRAWBERRY BUTTERCREAM

  • 1 cup unsalted butter or shortening – room temp
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 Tbsp strawberry puree

As most of you are aware, I have experience with Strawberry Frosting. (I didn’t say it was a good experience.) This particular recipe held up really well and maintained its shape well, especially after being refrigerated. You can, of course, use any buttercream recipe you like, just add some of the strawberry puree for color and flavor.

Cream the butter on high until it’s fluffy, then reduce the speed and add in the powdered sugar a little at a time so sugar dust explosions are kept to a minimum. Scrape down the bowl, add in the puree and mix until incorporated. Watch out when piping, you’ll want to use a larger tip so that chunks of berry don’t inhibit the frosting from leaving the bag in an even manner. Or just snag the chunks of berry out of the batter with the help of a spoon.

Then decorate and prepare to eat. It’s like the best of summer baked into a pretty pink package. Please enjoy these as often as you can this summer!

7 comments

  1. Oh wow. I just got fresh strawberries today and this recipe looks amazing! I think I have no choice but to use it with my left over strawberries sometime this week. I’ll definitely be sure to ping back this post if I make and then blog them.

  2. Wow, those are so pretty. I could imagine destroying the icing with the pearls! Also, I love your header photo!

  3. Looks so good and unhealthy 😀

  4. If I wasn’t absurdly full, that would look delicious.

    Also your cinnamon buns look like eyeballs and it kind of freaks me out.

  5. […] trying to figure out what to do with the leftover strawberries I had. I thought about making these Strawberry Cucpakes, but I wasn’t sure I had enough strawberries to make them. And, my dad just made a German […]

  6. Anywhere Home · · Reply

    I wish I would have a kitchen appropriate to make these. And I want pearls in my cupcakes!!!

  7. I just bought 3 lbs of strawberries maybe i’ll try this out, looks great.

Leave a Reply

