Hey, Blondie!

My friend came over and we decided to make blondies. We were really making them to prove a point, that 2 people have no business working in my kitchen at the same time, but also to cap off the evening with some yummy treats.

I got this recipe from one of my many “100 best cookie recipes!” magazines (Better Homes & Gardens, Winter 2010), and it looked promising since we weren’t in the mood to work too hard with chilling dough or frosting cupcakes or anything.

These were pretty quick to make, especially with 2 people, but unfortunately that means I didn’t take as many pictures (and a few came out blurry!), but you can always ask me if you have any questions on this recipe.

BLONDIES – Makes 24-36 bars

  • 2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1.5 cups sliced almonds or broken pecans
  • Optional – use half the amount of nuts (3/4 cup) and add 3/4 cup white chocolate or semisweet chips

This is a “one bowl” blondie, and instead of using a mixer we actually cook everything in a saucepan, similar to the Applesauce Spice Bars. Preheat your oven to 350ºF, and grease a 9″ x 13″ baking pan.

Put the butter and sugar in a medium-sized saucepan on medium heat. (In the case of my stove, medium heat is on 2) Cook and stir until smooth. Let it cool slightly.

Then add the eggs one at a time, mixing each in so it’s combined. Then stir in your vanilla, followed by the flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda. Stir in the chocolate chips now if you’re using them. Spread the batter into the prepared greased baking pan.

Sprinkle the top with the nuts and then bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Let them cool slightly in the pan, but cut them while still warm. I sent these home with my friend, so I only cut off a sample for her to try in front of me – but you can cut these into smaller or larger pieces depending on your mood. I tend to cut on the bigger side for less bars. She said these came out great, and it was such a simple recipe I’ll be sure to make them again. I think you should make them too.

Hope you’re having a wonderful Thursday, and happy baking!

2 comments

  1. Blondies are one of my favorite treats! The sliced almonds sprinkled on top are a lovely touch – I’ll try that next time. 🙂

  2. i love blondies but i am terrible at making them. yours look fab!

Leave a Reply

