St. Patty’s Day – Bailey’s Cake Balls

Hello Everyone!

In honor of St. Patty’s Day, I made some cake balls for a little hangout I’m having tonight. I’m not wearing green today, but hopefully no one will mind once they taste these. I was inspired, like many people on the internet before me, to do a chocolate cake with some Bailey’s Irish Cream flavored frosting. These smell fantastic, and if the little flick of the cake ball batter that landed on my forearm was any indication, they’re going to be off the hook.

I used a chocolate cake recipe for 12 cupcakes, baked it in an 8″ glass dish, and once it was done I crumbled it into a large bowl.

Then I mixed the frosting. I used my regular buttercream recipe and just added some Bailey’s as you’ll see below:

BAILEY’S BUTTERCREAM FROSTING

  • 1 cup butter
  • 3-4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup Bailey’s Irish Cream

To make the frosting, first cream the butter, then add in the powdered sugar. Once you’ve reached a good frosting consistency, mix in the Bailey’s. I could have probably done this by creaming together the butter and the Bailey’s, then adding the powdered sugar, but I didn’t. I wanted a frosting that wasn’t too stiff because I wanted it to easily be mixed in with the cake. Mission accomplished. (I might have used too much frosting, actually, but is there really such a thing?)

Mix the frosting in with the cake. Once that’s done, line a baking sheet with wax paper. Roll out the mixture into meatball sized rounds and plop them down with a little space between them. At this point, I usually put these in the freezer for an hour or so, if you don’t need them right away you can use your fridge.

I decided to cover these with chocolate rather than white chocolate. It’s not that you’re supposed to use white chocolate or anything, it was just another option I toyed with. Just for full disclosure, I had a problem with curdling chocolate during this process. Sometimes this happens to me, the chocolate gets all chunky. My only guess is that there’s some sort of “reaction” with the Bailey’s or the amount of butter that was in the frosting. Fortunately, I got most of them coated and just popped the rest back in the freezer since I didn’t want to deal with a new batch of chocolate.

Anyways, once you’ve given them their chocolate shell, top with the decoration of your choice (I used green non-pareils), pop them in the fridge to set for a bit, and serve! Your guests are sure to love them.

Happy St. Patty’s Day!

Leave a Reply

