The Big 1(01)!

Ladies and Gentlemen, I have reached 101 posts during the rule of this empire. It’s pretty insane, actually, because when I started this blog I didn’t even tell anyone it existed, and not only that, but I’ve actually kept with it for this long. It’s also surprising I’ve hit this milestone considering I’ve gone chunks of time without posting anything at all.

This blog started off as a way for me to keep track of things that I made, as well as to note my progress from a beginner baker, and it’s pretty awesome how far I’ve come. I have noticed some things have changed on here, as I read back, but the one thing I’ve tried my best to continue is the step by step directions with photos. I know it can be tedious to read sometimes, but on other blogs I like seeing what someone else has done and what their batter or dough might look like at certain stages (mostly for the more difficult or advanced recipes) to know if I’m on the right track with mine. I also wanted to be candid about things that I found difficult, or that I may have initially misread in recipes, so you could be spared my anguish and frustration!

For my 100th post, I was inspired to do a look-back at all the things I’ve done over the past 99 posts in lieu of a new recipe. However, I thought it was silly to sit on my Chocolate Whoopie Pie recipe after giving you the one for the filling, so I decided to do a big 101st post instead.

The idea for this post was partially inspired by WordPress’ blog summary I received at the end of last year. In addition to taking this stroll down memory lane, I also want to thank you for being along for the ride, whether you just found me or if you’ve been with me since the beginning. Thanks for your support and comments, they’ve given me confidence in both my baking and my writing.

As of today, I’ve had 8,814 views since I started this blog, and so far 16 today. The crazy thing is that in the beginning, only my mom and sister were reading this. My first month blogging, I had 41 views. Last month, February, I had 2,139. My busiest day was July 21, 2010 (230 views) when the entries for the Mystery Box Cupcake Challenge – Tea were announced for voting over on Sweetest Kitchen. I have 16 subscribers, which is so exciting for me.

MY MOST POPULAR POSTS (by number of hits):

  1. My home page is the most popular page on my site, shocking.
  2. Cinnamon Roll Cookies
  3. French Macaron Day
  4. My “About” page
  5. Fluffernutter Cupcakes

I have posted 33 cookie recipes, 15 cupcake recipes, 13 filling recipes, and 11 cake recipes.

I’VE ENTERED CONTESTS:

White Lime Experience

Orange Cupcakesicle

Triple Ginger Carrot Cupcakes

I’VE BEEN INSPIRED BY OTHER BAKERS (in alphabetical order):

FRIENDS’ FAVORITES:

Dunkaroos

Chocolate Salty Balls (my signature dessert!)

Biscotti

Alfajores

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Brownies

I’VE MADE SOME NEW FRIENDS (without whom my blog would be comment-less!):

I’VE BAKED FOR A CAUSE:

Oreos

Sugar Cookies

Cake Mix Sugar Cookies

I’VE MADE THINGS PRETTY:

Ladybug Cake

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

My first fondant cake

Go G-Men

I’VE TRIED TO HELP MY DAD MAINTAIN HIS WEIGHT DURING TAX SEASON:

Homemade Mallomars

Pinwheel Cookies

I’VE WORKED WITH FRUITS AND VEGGIES:

Carrot Bread

Zucchini Bread

Banana Bread

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Lemon Glazed Cookies

Key Lime Bars

I’VE MADE EVILLY DECADENT TREATS (Like slap-your-coworker good):

A Piece of Work Pie

Perfectly Chocolate Cakes

Cinnamon Rolls (This photo made it to the Foodpress Favorite Food Photo Archive page!)

Salted Caramel Cheesecake Cupcakes

I’VE MADE SOME UNUSUAL TREATS:

Banana Ice Cream

Jello Cookies

AND I’VE EVEN MANAGED TO MESS UP SOME THINGS (Tasty mistakes, the best kind!):

Strawberry Massacre

Rainbow Cookies

Believe it or not, there is so much more I wanted to post, but you can hunt around my site on your own for the peanut buttery, savory, and Gluten Free desserts I haven’t talked about. Not only that, but I have some fun ideas for things to come, including how to make some basic ingredients at home if you run out!

All in all, this has been a rewarding and totally kick-ass experience for me. I’ve gotten so much more out of it than just what I posted above- like getting better at taking pictures, being more confident in tweaking recipes, and working with some ingredients I might not have otherwise paired together. Thank you guys for sticking with me all this time (I mean to the end of this super long, self-indulgent post), it’s been your encouragement that has gotten me where I am.

101, baby!!

3 comments

  1. How exciting for you!! I’ve only recently discovered your blog, but this summary indicates you’ve done quite a lot since you started blogging. It’s something to be proud of–especially since you started as a beginner (like me)! I’m keeping my fingers crossed that someday, maybe, I’ll reach the same point with my blog. 🙂

  2. congratulations! i started my blog for similar reasons and haven’t told too many people, and it’s been such a pleasant surprise to see that there is such a strong blogging community that supports each other! discovering the community and learning from and sharing with so many people i would have normally never had met, has by far been the best part of blogging. i look forward to trying some of your recipes!

  3. Congratulations – great inspiration! I’m just starting out.. isn’t it a thrill hen you start getting regular visitors! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

