Chocolate Whoopie Pies

Guess what, everyone… I’ve hit 100 posts today! It’s taken a little longer than I planned, but life’s a journey, not a destination, right? I had a super cool post planned, but decided to post this whoopie pie recipe rather than let you guys sit in suspense as you try to figure out what to do with your whipped cream filling. So, instead, post 101 will be super special and jam packed, much like the freeway.

I went to karaoke the other night, for the 2nd night in a row, because a friend had a sister in town and wanted to show her our local hangout and where we all met. (Sardo’s in Burbank, for those of you familiar with the area. And I did, in fact, meet most of my close friends there.) So of course, I wanted to impress. Aside from my literal show stopping karaoke rendition of Surrender by Cheap Trick (the system broke down and had to be rebooted just as my song began), I decided to make a treat! These whoopie pies seemed to be the solution to “what can I do with that insane filling recipe I’m dying to make again rather than serve it solo from a communal bowl?”

After searching around, I came across this recipe from Epicurious and it didn’t let me down. Feel free to check out the original to see what they used for a marshmallow filling. I made these pies slightly smaller than the recipe asked for so as to yield more of them. These were still monster-sized! The original recipe says it makes 8 sandwiches, and I ended up with 11, could have made them smaller yet!

CHOCOLATE WHOOPIE PIES – yields 8 giant whoopie pies

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1/2 cup dutch process cocoa powder
  • 1+1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup well-shaken buttermilk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 large egg

Preheat your oven to 350ºF, and grease 2 baking pans with butter or line them with parchment.

In the bowl of a mixer, cream the butter and brown sugar. While that’s going, mix together your dry ingredients – flour, cocoa, baking soda, salt – in a medium bowl. In a smaller bowl, or the measuring cup, mix together your buttermilk and vanilla.

Add the egg to the butter and sugar and mix until combined.

Using the dry, wet, dry method, add 1/3 of the dry ingredients into the butter and mix. Then, alternating with the buttermilk, make sure the dry ingredients are your last addition.

You’ll be left with a thick and sticky batter. Measure out 1/4 cup and place the mounds on your prepared baking sheet. I used heaping tablespoons to make mine slightly smaller.

Bake for 11-13 minutes and, if you’re doing both trays at the same time, make sure to swap and rotate them halfway through. They should be springy to the touch once they’re fully baked.

Let them cool completely on a wire rack before finishing them off with the filling of your choice. The easiest way to do this is to pair off similar shaped cookies before filling them. Just my two cents.

Then, heap a large dollop of filling on one half of the cookie before topping it with the other. Super easy. Just like the macarons, but with more middle!

I popped these in the fridge before taking them with me so that the whipped cream would stay cool. Try to make sure they lose their chill before serving because chocolate goods seem to taste dry when cold.

I got such rave reviews for these. I’ve been trying to stay away from baked goods, among other things, so I didn’t actually sample these before serving them, however I had no reason to worry. I was told the proportion of filling to the sandwich was perfect, that there wasn’t too little, but also not so much that it squished out the sides when you tried to bite down. I wish I could remember more specific compliments, but it was really loud in there. One thing I know is that you should make these for the sandwich cookie lovers in your life.

Enjoy!

3 comments

  1. Whoopie pies are great.. I have made some pumpkin ones that were killer.. and the chocolate ones were good too especially with the peppermint flour frosting I made. If you want the outsides to be a bit smoother (since they don’t do that on their own) I just wet my fingers and dabble them on the pointy parts to push them down a bit. Not that anyone really cares what they look like. And I also hear they are great frozen, and it might solve the whole “filling gushes out the sides as you bite it” problem.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

  2. wow these look fantastic

  3. Congratulations on reaching 100 posts!! 🙂
    Those whoopie pies look awesome!

Leave a Reply

