Whipped Cream Filling

A friend of mine made me cream puffs for my birthday this year which, coincidentally, has a lot to do with why I haven’t posted in a while. (Not because of the cream puffs necessarily, but from the general celebrating of many birthdays and going on vacation and mourning the loss of my youth and all that.) The cream puffs she made were from a top secret family recipe, so there’s no posting those here, but the filling is another story.

It’s so simple and fantastic, and it’s great not only for filling cream puffs, but I know (and will test this theory soon) that it would be wonderful on cupcakes as well. I made it to fill some chocolate whoopie pies (recipe to follow in a later post). The secret flavor ingredient is pudding mix, which leads me to believe that you could sub in any flavor you’d like – and I do plan on experimenting with that at some point. In this case, I used French Vanilla (preferable to regular vanilla because of the thin mustache and the accent).

WHIPPED CREAM FILLING

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 servings’ worth of pudding powder (the box I bought was for 4 servings, I used half the packet)
  • 1/2 cup milk

Start off with a chilled bowl. I popped my mixer bowl into the freezer while I went to visit Millie downstairs. (Side note, she’s going to teach me to make baklava, something for all of us to look forward to!)

Then pour your cream into the mixer and whip as you would for normal whipped cream. You want it to be thick consistency before you add in the pudding.

While that’s whipping, take your pudding mix and put it into a little bowl. Then add about 1/4 cup of the milk to start. There’s not an exact measurement for this because we’re going for a certain consistency rather than by amount. I know, it’s a pain, but you’ll know it when you see it. You’re definitely not using the full amount of milk the recipe calls for to make pudding, but you don’t want to use too little either. You need the mixture to be smooth enough that it will fold in easily to the whipped cream. Make sense? Good. (well, I hope so.)

Anyways, you’re starting off using just a bit of the milk, and then you can add more so the mix is creamy, like a custard/curd consistency… and electric yellow if you’re using the French Vanilla.

Make sure there are no big chunks because they’re harder to stir out once you add it into the whipped cream. That brings us to our next step… Add the pudding to the whipped cream, then fold it in so it’s all mixed evenly. I say fold rather than stir because you don’t want to deflate the whipped cream. Really you can probably do whatever you need to do to get that incorporated!

Then it’s ready to use! I would love to try this on cupcakes in place of vanilla buttercream. And I got such rave reviews yesterday when I used it in the whoopie pies…

You’ll want to do a taste test on this before using it. (The ever classy/classic pinky test always works.) Since you’re not adding any sugar directly into the whipped cream, you might want to adjust the amount of pudding depending on your taste for sweetness and vanilla. I know my friend felt it wasn’t vanilla-y enough when she made it for me, but I thought it had plenty of sweet flavor. You can always add more pudding mix in later on, just remember that.

If you have any other suggestions for where to use this filling, I’d love to hear them! I’d also be interested to know if anyone has tried making this with a different flavor. Stay tuned for the whoopie pie recipe!

Leave a Reply

