Toffee Bars

I wanted to make something sweet to bring to the Superbowl party (along with the cheese straws), and I knew the host would be getting his traditional red velvet cake, so I was looking for another flavor to bring to the mix. I was flipping through my Cookie and Biscuit Bible and came across this recipe for Toffee Bars (pg. 344) which I adapted slightly.

These were so good, I had at least 4 myself. Most of them went at the Superbowl party and I made a friend bring the rest to work so I wouldn’t eat them. Now that’s a sign of a good bar!

TOFFEE BARS – makes 24 (or 28 or 32 smaller ones)

for the bars:

  • 1.5 Cups light brown sugar
  • 2 cups (one lb) butter
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 cups AP flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt

for the topping:

  • 8 oz milk chocolate (I didn’t have enough, so I mixed in some semisweet too)
  • 1 cup toffee chips
  • 2 tsp sea salt

Preheat your oven to 350ºF and lightly grease a 9×13″ pan.

Then, in a mixer, beat together the sugar and butter until light and fluffy.

Add in your egg yolks and vanilla and beat until combined.

Then stir in the flour and salt. Don’t over-mix!

Spread the dough evenly in the prepared cake pan. Bake for 25-30 minutes until lightly browned.

You might not want to use your fingers to spread the dough like I did. Can you tell? In the picture in the book, they used the back of a spoon – much better idea. It doesn’t matter for presentation because you’ll be covering the top with chocolate, but no one wants to see fingerprints in her baked goods.

While the cake is still warm, sprinkle the chocolate over the top and let it melt. Then use a spatula to spread it evenly.

Next, sprinkle on your sea salt and toffee chips. I should tell you, for the sake of full disclosure, that the original recipe called for topping these with chopped walnuts or pecans. I opted to go with extra toffee and salt for the contrast because the rest of the recipe was pretty darn sweet on its own.

Cut into bars (4×6) while still in the pan and while still warm and then leave them to cool.

Don’t put them into the fridge or the chocolate will harden unnecessarily. Remember I learned my lesson with the Rainbow Cookies? When they’re no longer hot, feel free to dig in. The texture is fantastic, crumbly and light, and all from a simple list of ingredients. I couldn’t get enough of them, and certainly couldn’t bother to wait until they had cooled completely to “sample” one…

I’m going with an evil rating of 3.5 on these – a pound of butter, tons of sugar, and all that ooey, gooey chocolate sure do drive a girl wild… Enjoy 😉

3 comments

  1. those look evil.. my friend’s mom used to make a cake that was SO good.. had heath bar pieces in it, big 9×13 pan.. Hmmm maybe I will try and recreate it. Not anytime soon though, been eating too much lately.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

  2. These toffee bars look fantastic, especially with the sea salt sprinkled on top. I’m loving the sweet and salty combo these days! 🙂

  3. I just found your blog today when i googled homemade mallowmars- I love it!

Leave a Reply

