Cheese Straws

As you might know, the Superbowl happened recently. Obviously I was going to make something sweet, but decided to also bring something different. To me, and probably to most of the Packers, you can’t go wrong if there’s cheddar cheese in a recipe; whether shredded or sprayed in. I thought cheese straws would be the simplest and tastiest cheese-baked-in option for this special occasion.

I got the recipe from my Biscuit and Cookie Bible. Who knew there was a savory section? I’m just glad I found out in time. It’s a super simple recipe and the cheese straws came out so much better than I had imagined. I pictured them being hard and crunchy, but they came out more flaky- like biscuits. Maybe I made them wrong, but who cares? I couldn’t stop popping them, especially when I had the extras at home. I slapped some jelly on them for breakfast.

I didn’t get the 50 the recipe asked for, since I cut mine wider (the recipe was in cm, I’m metrically ignorant!), but it made plenty.

CHEESE STRAWS (pg. 460)- makes about 50

  • 1 Cup AP flour, plus extra for dusting
  • 1 tsp mustard powder (I didn’t have mustard powder, I subbed             1 Tbsp spicy brown mustard)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup butter – COLD
  • 3/4 cup grated Cheddar cheese (I bought shredded then chopped it finer with a knife)
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 1 egg, beaten

Preheat your oven to 350ºF, and grease 2 baking sheets. (I used parchment.)

Sift together the flour, mustard powder, salt, and cayenne pepper into a bowl. If using mustard, you can add it in later on with the water and egg.

Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. This might have actually been easier to do in a food processor, but I used my pastry cutter. Again, this probably accounts for why they were so darn flaky. (I did cut it more than the picture below would lead you to believe. Just appears I didn’t take another picture.)

Stir in the cheese, then sprinkle on the water and add the mustard. (Might be good to mix the mustard in with the water.) Then add half of the beaten egg and mix to form a firm dough. Knead lightly until dough is smooth.

Roll out the dough onto a lightly floured surface and use a pizza cutter (I find it easiest) to cut the dough into strips. Directions say about 4″ long and 1/4″ wide. I rolled the dough to 1/4 thick because it didn’t specify. (also, as I mentioned above, I cut mine around 1/2″ wide. Oops.) Gently re-roll the scraps to make as many sticks as you can.

Place them on a baking sheet about 1″ apart. They didn’t rise or spread too much, so you don’t need that much space between them. (Also, the recipe doesn’t specify! lots of guesswork here, but mine worked out okay so you should follow my lead, ‘kay?)

Brush the tops with the rest of the beaten egg, you can also sprinkle sesame seeds or poppy seeds and the like on top if you’re so inclined, and bake for 8-10 minutes. You’ll hear the cheese sizzling and smell the wonderfulness coming from the oven.

Let them cool on the sheet for a couple of minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. These taste mighty fine straight from the oven (well, let them cool a little at least), but they were also really good cold later on.

They might be great with some sort of dip, but they were fine plain. And like I said, pretty good with jelly – probably on account of them being so darn biscuity. I hope you get a chance to enjoy these yourself. I definitely see them again in my future.

3 comments

  1. I bet they would be good with apple butter. I will have to try these sometimes. LOVE biscuits AND cheese. mmmm. well done.

  2. […] Cheese Straws | My Baking Empire […]

  3. great snack – i bet these’d be addictive

Leave a Reply

