Buttery Jam Cookies

Some of you who know me personally know that I’ve been doing a yoga challenge at my local yoga studio. (30 days in a row, today is day 29! Urban Lily Yoga – if you’ve been looking for one.) Anyways, I’m not going to preach about yoga, but one of the nice things I’ve discovered while going to classes there is that I really feel like a part of a community. I wasn’t super into it at first, but since starting there in October, I’ve gotten to know a lot of really great people. So when they said they were having a fundraiser to raise money to throw an anniversary party, I asked if they’d like any donated baked goods. Who would turn that down?

I wanted to do something that would be not only simple to bake, but easy to eat as you’re perusing all the other goods for sale. I made one batch of my fail-proof brownies, and decided to try out these Buttery Jam Cookies from Dorie Greenspan’s “Baking, from my home to yours,” page 80.

She describes them as “A cross between study cookie jar cookies and more delicate side-of-the-saucer sweets, these chunky jam-laced cookies are surprisingly flaky, like the best biscuits.” I couldn’t say it better myself. They came out looking like little drop biscuits, or scones even, and the hint of raspberry was just enough to sweeten them up. They would definitely be perfect with a cup of tea or coffee, but I popped plenty of them on their own.

Dorie recommends apricot jam, but all I had was raspberry, so that’s what I used. She just advises making sure you use a thick jam, not a jelly.

BUTTERY JAM COOKIES – Makes about 4 dozen cookies

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 stick unsalted butter – room temp
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 Tbsp milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup jam (I used raspberry)

Start off by placing your racks so they divide the oven into thirds, you’ll be baking 2 sheets at once. Preheat the oven to 375ºF and line 2 baking sheets with parchment.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, ginger, and salt.

In the bowl of your mixer, beat the butter until it’s creamy. Then add the sugar and beat for a minute. Then add the egg and beat for 2 more minutes. Adding the milk and vanilla, beat until just combined.

Add the jam, and beat on low for a minute.

While the mixer is still on low, add in the dry ingredients and mix until just incorporated. The dough will be really thick and extremely sticky.

Using a spoon, place mounds of dough, slightly smaller than a tablespoon, onto the baking sheets about one inch apart.

Bake for between 10 and 12 minutes, swapping the sheets from top to bottom and front to back halfway through. They should look browned just around the edges but mostly pale in color.

For the most part, they’ll look the same as they did going in, I don’t know why I expected them to flatten out.

Let them cool on the pans for a minute before removing them to a wire rack to cool completely.

These got some great reviews from those that tried them, including myself. They did taste more biscuity than like a cookie, but the slight weetness and subtle raspberry flavor let you know these were a treat. They’d be perfect for a tea party or with an afternoon coffee.

Enjoy!

Oh, and here’s what my cat Sunny was doing during all of this…

I kept trying to get her out, but she’d go back to the same spot. That squished cat face sure is freaky, though.

One comment

  1. Sunny is so cute! My kitten Owen does the same thing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

