Mexican Hot Chocolate Cupcakes

Sometimes you need to spice things up a bit. A friend of mine had been going on and on about Mexican Hot Chocolate, which is hot chocolate with some added chili pepper and cinnamon. Although I had never tried it myself, I figured it could be easily recreated in a cupcake recipe. I was right.

The great thing about an experiment like this is you can translate these kinds of flavor “add-ins” to any kind of cupcake. Once you have a good base recipe, you can mess around by adding hints of almost anything, spices or extracts for example, to liven it up a bit. Nothing wrong with trying, right?

So I recently made these Mexican Hot Chocolate Cupcakes, and it was a darn good experiment. You can start off with your favorite chocolate cupcake recipe, this one is mine. (Keep in mind that that particular recipe makes 2 dozen cupcakes.) I will give you measurements below for spicing up a recipe for one dozen, so you can double it as needed per your cupcake of choice.

For the cupcakes you will need:

  • Chocolate cupcake recipe of your choice for 12 cupcakes
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

For the cinnamon whipped cream you’ll need:

  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 2 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Make your chocolate cupcakes per your recipe’s directions. Add in the spices wherever you add in your dry ingredients. Depending on the instructions, you can probably whisk them in with your flour. Boom, so easy.

As for the whipped cream, combine your ingredients in a deep bowl and use a whisk, or your mixer, to whip it up until it’s airy and thick, just like you’d make any kind of whipped cream. Pipe it onto your cupcakes however you see fit. (Would also be great on ACTUAL hot chocolate!)

I went for a whipped cream topping because that’s what I always enjoy atop my hot chocolate. For those of you marshmallow fans, I don’t discriminate – I’d never turn down a ‘mallow in my hot cocoa! – a marshmallow topping would probably be equally delicious for these cupcakes. But let me tell you, make this whipped cream anyway sometime. It compliments the chocolate spice of the cake, but it’s also pretty tasty right off your finger.

Since we’re having summer in January here in L.A., 83ºF today thank you, I am not really in the mood for any kind of warm beverage. However, for those of you in chillier climates, I hope this little variation makes its way into your kitchen if you want to try something different. Please let me know how they turn out!

PS – not that any of you asked, but maybe you were wondering… I use scrap-booking paper as the background on most of my baking pictures. I found some awesome pads at a recent sale at Michael’s. So while rocket ships aren’t necessarily related to this post in any way, they sure are fun to look at!

2 comments

  1. I may need to try this. I once found a bar of dark chocolate that had poprocks, chilli powder and cinnamon in it.. it was quite good. Thanks for sharing

  2. Ashleigh Nichols · · Reply

    When are you making these for me?

Leave a Reply

