Flax Eggs

I was asked recently to make a few dozen cupcakes and a smash cake for a little girl’s first birthday party. A smash cake is a little, in this case only 3 inches, personalized cake for the birthday boy or girl that they can demolish with their hands. I’d never heard of one until I moved to California.

Anyways, I don’t have children so I don’t know much about the details of raising or feeding them. Along with honey, her mother told me, children under the age of one apparently aren’t supposed to consume eggs. Now we all know. So when she asked if I’d make a cake for her without eggs, I looked online for some substitutes, and the most common one I found was the “flax egg.”

It’s super easy to make, but sort of impractical unless you happen to have ground flax seed lying around because it’s a bit pricey. (I do happen to have it lying around, however, and if you did happen to buy a bag just for this you can use the rest in your smoothies for some omega 3’s and a nice nutty flavor.)

So for this birthday cake, I used my basic vanilla cupcake recipe and subbed out the eggs with flax eggs. The recipe is as follows:

FLAX EGGS – makes 1 egg substitute

  • 1 Tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 2-3 Tbsp water

Yeah, you read that correctly. That’s all; two ingredients. Take them and mix them together in a little bowl. (Since I needed 2 eggs, I used 2 tablespoons flax and 6 tablespoons water.)

Then let it sit in your fridge for a bit, maybe 20 mins, so it thickens to more of an egg-like consistency.

Once it’s ready, sub it in where you’d normally use your eggs. Mix your batter like normal, and voila! You can see the flax working 😉

I made a little extra of this so I could try some and see what it was like myself. (I don’t necessarily like serving something that I haven’t even tried.) It was really good! There was a hint of nuttiness but the consistency was still springy and cake-like. Really yummy substitute, and not that the birthday girl had anything to compare it to, but I’m glad that she got to have a super tasty first piece of cake for her first birthday.

Here are some pictures of the 3″ cake and cupcakes below, her theme was ladybugs. (too cute!)

I  hope this minor substitution helps you expand your baking empire to include little children as well 😉

2 comments

  1. I didn’t know you could do that! How interesting…are there any other benefits to using flax eggs instead of real eggs??

  2. I’ve used flax eggs on occasion when I’m out of real eggs. I like the nutty flavor, and don’t notice much difference in the texture of the baked goods. Great for vegan desserts!

    That ladybug cake is just adorable!

Leave a Reply

