Oatmeal Bran Muffins

I had a request, one morning, for Oatmeal Bran Muffins. You know me, I said “Okay! Let’s see what I can do.” I knew that Joy the Baker would have a something I could use. I had to adapt her recipe, though I will certainly make it someday as is, because the muffins were requested without raisins. There went using Raisin Bran to make it easier, but I’m pretty resourceful and found a solid substitute. (Please check out Joy’s original recipe at the link above, however, if you are raisin-tolerant!)

I subbed in an all bran cereal which worked pretty well considering the consistency (and shape!) of the cereal is not the same as the delicate flakes in Raisin Bran. In hindsight, I would use even less cereal next time, just if I were subbing in this different kind, than her recipe calls for.

Joy suggests making these a bit ahead of when you need them because the longer the batter sits, the longer the cereal has to soften. Not only that, but she says these taste great even when you make them a day or two later. (Cover and refrigerate the batter!)

These came out wonky-looking, and didn’t seem to rise much, but the response was overwhelmingly positive. Many people had multiples, and, believe it or not, these went faster than the chocolate chip muffins I made for the same event. If you’re not the type of person to shy away from eating something just because it looks funny, these are the muffins for you!

OATMEAL BRAN MUFFINS – makes about 2 dozen

  • around 6oz All Bran Cereal (less than half of a 15oz box – you’ll see how much it was, Raisin Bran flakes are much smaller)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2.5 cups flour
  • 1.5  cups oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup molasses
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 cups buttermilk

In a large bowl, mix together the cereal, oatmeal, flour, salt, sugar, and baking soda. I tried crushing the cereal a bit before adding the other stuff, but it didn’t really work. (Oh well!)

In a medium bowl, whisk together oil, eggs, vanilla, molasses, and buttermilk.

Whisky the wet ingredients into the dry. Let the batter sit on the counter for 45 minutes or so, so the cereal has time to soften. I left mine for a bit longer since it was so dense.

Line about 2 dozen muffin tins with paper, and preheat your oven to 375ºF. I found these muffins didn’t rise, so you can fill the liners close to the top, I did mine about 2/3 full.

Bake for 15-20 minutes. Unfortunately, there wasn’t really a gauge for me on how to tell if these were done. I went in the middle of the spectrum, and actually ate part of one to decipher if it was still too mushy or seemed cooked through. A toothpick didn’t really help, but in theory it should have come out clean.

In hindsight, I was a little weirded out by how, well, icky these looked so I didn’t know what to think. But, as it turns out, beauty is in the eye of the beholder because, as I mentioned earlier, the reactions were unanimously positive. I’d recommend trying these next time you need a hearty breakfast muffin!

One comment

  1. yum, these look delicious! i don’t think they look icky at all!

Leave a Reply

