Cake Mix Sugar Cookies

I was so tempted to post my Pumpkin Muffin recipe, but I realized that I have been inundating you guys with pumpkin stuff and should probably take a break so as not to lose the interest of those who aren’t “into pumpkin.” (For the rest of you that are, there’s more to come! squeal!)

These cookies are pretty simple to make, and taste fantastic – I got the recipe from my sister. They’re meant to be cut with cookie cutters, but I found the batter to be too sticky, having tried this before, and decided to use the “scoop and squish” method of shaping as you’ll see below. For better directions with the cutouts, refer to the original recipe – there’s a link below.

This works for any kind of cake mix, I used one Funfetti and one Chocolate, and both batches of cookies came out fantastic. I think the only difference was I let the batter get a bit too warm for the Funfetti ones and so they spread a bit more and appear to be larger, but it didn’t alter the taste in any way.

I found plenty of recipes on how to do this, but I went with this one from Best Ever Cookie Collection. With a name like that, how can you doubt its legitimacy? This is a pretty easy way to doctor up some cake mix if you don’t feel like making cookies from scratch, or if you want that guaranteed consistency you get with a mix. But you didn’t come here to listen to me talk, so here is the recipe so you can test it out!

CAKE MIX SUGAR COOKIES – Make about 3 to 4 Dozen

  • 1 package cake mix
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/3 cup butter, softened (but not too warm!)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1Tbsp additional sprinkles (optional)

Preheat the oven to 375ºF and line baking sheets with parchment.

In a large bowl, beat half the cake mix, shortening, butter, extra sprinkles, vanilla, and egg with a mixer on medium high. Scrape down the sides as needed. Then, stir in the remaining cake mix until it’s just incorporated.

Scoop a blob (accurate description of measurement) of cookie dough out onto your prepared sheet. Keep in mind, this will be pretty sticky. Using the bottom of a measuring cup or glass, press the dough down to form a nice, mostly even round that’s about 1/4″ thick. You may need to flour or grease (or both) the bottom of the glass to prevent the dough from sticking.

Pop the sheets in the oven for 5-7 minutes, until they’re light golden brown around the edges. Let them sit on the sheet for a bit before transferring to a rack to cool completely.

Then, it’s time to enjoy! I made these in both Chocolate and Funfetti as a portion of the treats I sent out for Baking Gals this month. I hope the soldiers enjoyed them, and I know that you will!

One comment

  1. just what i was looking for! yummy thanks!

Leave a Reply

