Zucchini Bread

So I mentioned in my post about Carrot Bread that I had originally found a Zucchini Bread Recipe from Brown Eyed Baker and adapted it to suit my needs. Well, as promised, I did actually make the zucchini bread as well, and it turned out fabulous! I brought it into work since my poor, deprived coworkers haven’t had any fresh-baked goods in well over a month, and the reviews were unanimous.

The bread was moist, flavorful, and not too sweet. The latter was a good thing, as one coworker pointed out, because people tend to use too much sugar in zucchini bread to compensate for the fact that it’s a veggie bread. Not necessary! The zucchini I used were so sweet on their own that it was all I could to to not steal raw bites here and there when the shreds were a-flyin’. Why didn’t I just eat all the zucchini then, you might ask. The answer is simple. I got carried away in the food store and bought the 3 largest ones I could find, and I only made it through 1.5 of them. And yes, now that they’ve been used up of course I’m going to buy more. (Silly question.)

So, if you’ve got extra zucchini lying around, or if you were going to the food store anyway, I will now present to you a wonderful quick bread recipe from Brown Eyed Baker!

ZUCCHINI BREAD

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1 lb zucchini – grated (I did that!) or shredded in processor
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup walnuts or pecans (I did walnuts), chopped coarsely
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 2 eggs, beaten lightly
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 6 Tbsp (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, melted and cooled

Start off by grating your zucchini (use the largest holes on your grater) because preparing the zucchini takes the longest. Once it’s done being shredded, you’ll need to drain the excess water. If you’ve never done this before, it’s super fun. You can literally wring out the zucchini like a wet towel. I left mine to drip in a strainer set over a bowl, she recommends half an hour, but helped it along at the end by squeezing it to get out every last drop with my fingas.

Mount Zucchini

All that was left of that giant zucchini when I was done…

mmm, zucchini juice

Once that’s almost ready, after half an hour or so of letting it drip and then squeezing the life out of it anyway, you can preheat your oven to 375ºF and prepare a 9×5 loaf pan by buttering and flouring it.

While the oven is preheating, put the nuts on a baking sheet (I used a pie dish) and toast them until fragrant; about 5-7 minutes. Once you take them out, let them cool completely while you finish making the rest of the batter.

Whisk your dried goods together in a large bowl – flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  In another bowl, combine your sugar, yogurt, eggs, lemon juice, and melted butter. Combine the wet goods into the dry goods and mix just enough that most of the dry stuff has been moistened. You’ll mix more when you add the zucchini.

That brings me to the next step… Add the zucchini and stir until everything is almost combined and evenly distributed. Then add the nuts and make sure everything is mixed in completely. Don’t over-mix because you want your bread to be tender, so it’s better to stop stirring earlier rather than later.

Dump the batter into your prepared pan, it will be around 2/3 full, and smooth out the top with your spatula.

Bake until the loaf is golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean (I test in 2 places), around 55 minutes to an hour.

Have it cool in the pan for 10 minutes before taking it out and letting it cool for another hour on a wire rack. I liked this part, my house smelled like zucchini sticks. Much more appealing in reality than I realize it might sound in writing.

Slice, and serve! Unfortunately, the only picture I got of the sliced bread was on my camera phone after the loaf had been dissected at work. It’s a bit fuzzy, but look how pretty!

No evil ranking on this one because there are (gasp) veggies in it!

One comment

  1. I am definitely going to have to try that. I love zucchini (or courgettes, as they say here in Ireland) like crazy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

