French Toast Cookies

I’ve had this recipe logged away for a bit, and I decided the perfect occasion to make them was as a thank you gift for someone who helped me out recently. The thank you I got from her for these cookies may have actually been bigger than the thank you message I thought I was sending with them. Anyways, she loved these, and you will too!

I was a little skeptical of the original post on Shine at first, not because any of the ingredients were weird, but because the pictures made the cookies look a little dry. I don’t know why I thought that, but I did. I should have known with the amount of pudding mix in these cookies that nothing could go wrong. I don’t know how much these tasted like french toast, really, but they were like amazing cinnamon cookies. I could probably have used a little more syrup, or maple extract, in the recipe. I also didn’t add the glaze because I was sending these via courier and in this case, the threat of messiness upon receipt outweighed the potential for taste bud ecstasy.

I modified this recipe slightly from the original, I didn’t have the maple extract so instead used syrup, but that in no way detracted from the overall flavor or ridiculous moistness of these cookies. Just an FYI, this recipe yielded 15-18 2oz cookies. Those would have to be some monster cookies as I ended up with 3 dozen pretty sizeable ones myself. I don’t think they were 2 oz, but they were definitely larger than I normally roll my cookies (1.5″ ball maybe?). It doesn’t really matter the size you make them, just adjust the baking time accordingly. 🙂

FRENCH TOAST COOKIES

  • 1.5 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 package (3.4 oz) french vanilla pudding mix
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • cinnamon sugar to sprinkle on cookies

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.

Mix together your flour, salt, and baking soda in a bowl and set aside. Next, cream your butter and sugars together in a mixer. When they’re nice and fluffy, add in the pudding mix and cinnamon and mix well, scraping down the bowl as needed. Next, add in the eggs (one at a time) and maple syrup, and mix completely. Lastly, add your flour mix in slowly and make sure it’s completely incorporated.

To make the rounds, you can use a standard ice cream scoop which is 2 oz, or do as I did and gauge enough dough to roll a ball that’s about 1.5″ in diameter – it was a bit more than a Tablespoon. Put the dough on parchment lined baking sheets, and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar before baking. I had some pre-made, but you can make some yourself with 2 Tbsp granulated sugar and 1 tsp ground cinnamon.

Bake for 11-14 mins. If you make them smaller, I’d check around 10 minutes, if you make them larger, leave them in towards the upper end of the time frame. Some of these turned a little golden brown around the edges, but it wasn’t noticeable for the most part, and I wanted them to be soft so I took them out on the earlier side because didn’t want to risk overbaking them.

Let them cool on wire racks completely before glazing.

MAPLE GLAZE

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1-2 Tbsp maple syrup (to start)

Mix to the consistency you want, adding more maple for a thinner glaze, more sugar for a thicker one. I feel this was probably the missing piece to these cookies, so next time I will completely invest in the goopy, drippy, sticky, loveliness that is the french toast topping.

I’d get to making these quickly. It’s a great way to thank someone, and right when they take that first bite it’s like an immediate “You’re welcome.”

5 comments

  1. Can you ship internationally?

  2. *Faints at the greatness of these cookies*

    http://minilaptop410.wordpress.com/

  3. Oh I will be trying these cookies for sure! I found your blog through a tag, in case you’re wondering (I was about to post a french toast casserole, so I checked the tag and it led me to these wonderful yummies of yours!) Thanks for posting your recipe. I can’t wait to make them!

  4. Young Wifey · · Reply

    Sounds like the maple syrup is what makes it!

Leave a Reply

