White Chocolate Macadamia Cookies

I wanted to make these cookies because I’d bought the ingredients forever ago and just never got around to it. They were totally worth the wait! I didn’t have a specific recipe in mind, so originally I was going to just use a chocolate chip cookie recipe and sub in the white chocolate and macadamia nuts for the chocolate chips. Then I decided to maybe utilize one of the many cookbooks I have that are dedicated solely to baked goods because (duh) they probably have recipes.

Surprisingly, they didn’t have a recipe for these, so it was time to get creative. I ended up modifying a recipe for peanut cookies, but these are so dissimilar you can’t even tell anymore. While these would have been great had they been chewy, they ended up hard and more like a shortbread, and I wouldn’t have them any other way. Another thing I should note is that I didn’t even use any vanilla in the recipe, but I (just out of habit I guess) grabbed it from the pantry and threw it in the picture below. I didn’t even realize it until just now when I posted it. I am so sorry for misleading you 😉 (Use it if you want, 1/2 tsp, but the cookies don’t need it.)

So here is my recipe:

WHITE CHOCOLATE MACADAMIA NUT COOKIES

  • 1/2 cup butter – room temp
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar – packed
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped macadamia nuts (I went a bit overboard with these…)

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.

Cream together the butter and brown sugar. Once those are nice and fluffy, add in the powdered sugar and mix until it’s all in. Scrape down the bowl and add the egg, mixing until it’s combined.

Then add in the dry stuff and mix until just combined. You’ll have a nice, moist dough.

That will all be ruined once you add in the chips and nuts.

You’ll end up with crumbly dough that almost has the consistency of sand. This will prove to be not so fun in shaping your cookies, but that’s why this is such an adventure! Who likes predictability?

Roll your dough into a ball, sort of, and squeeze it so it all sticks together. Place on a greased or parchment lined cookie sheet. These don’t rise or spread, so you can probably cram more onto each sheet than I did. Press the cookies down a bit, with a fork or your hand – not pictured below, so they don’t bake up as mounds (because they will.)

Bake for 14-17 mins, until the edges turn golden brown. Let cool on the sheets for a bit, then remove to wire racks to cool completely.

I ended up with 3 dozen cookies, but you could probably make them a bit bigger and end up with a few less. However you see fit, they’re yummy. I’m still eating them at home.

These don’t even rank on the Evil Rating Scale, because they’re just good – simple, not-too-sweet, and yummy.

In other news, here’s my submission for the Threadcakes contest, since I gave you a teaser last week. There’s no voting or anything, but if you wanted to see what I came up with, fell free to check it out. I am now debating doing  a second submission since I had a ton of fun with the first.

Hope you’re having a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

