Peanut Butter Cookies

For a friend’s birthday, I wanted to send her a little treat. Her grandmother always made the best peanut butter cookies ever, so I thought I’d try to match those and send her some. (I hope these compare, you’ll have to let me know!)

I scoured a bunch of recipes, and finally decided on one from a book I received for the holidays – The Cookie and Biscuit Bible. It’s a great book which lists recipes by both weight and volume, and this is the first recipe I’ve made from it. It’s great because these recipes don’t make dozens of cookies like most of the ones I have, rather it yielded 24. Of course, I ended up with 3 dozen – so I’m sorry if you felt gypped you got such small cookies! (They weren’t small!)

Hope you enjoy these. I only made one change, and that was to use shortening instead of butter, but I’ve noted it below.

PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES

  • 1/2 cup shortening (or butter at room temp)
  • 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup peanut butter (I used smooth, but feel free to use smooth or crunchy)
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt

Cream together the sugar and shortening until light and fluffy.  While that’s going, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt in another bowl and set aside. Then add the egg and vanilla to the sugar/shortening and beat until combined, scraping the bowl as needed. Add the peanut butter and mix until it’s thoroughly blended. Then add the dry ingredients and mix until combined, but don’t overmix!

The recipe calls for chilling the dough in the fridge for half an hour, but I didn’t see that and therefore didn’t do that. So feel free to chill the dough for half an hour, otherwise they baked up fine without it (maybe a little puffy). If you’re not going to chill them – please pre-heat your oven to 350F before making the cookie dough so it’s nice and toasty. If you are chilling them, you don’t have to heat the oven until the dough comes out of the fridge.

Prepare 2 (I needed 3) baking sheets by either lightly greasing or covering them with parchment. I scooped out enough dough to roll out one-inch balls before flattening them. You could do yours even bigger, because I ended up with 36 cookies rather than the 24 mondo ones you can get from this recipe.  Flatten the dough rounds with the tines of a fork in a criss-cross pattern. The easiest way to do this is by flattening down in one direction (not too much or the fork will trap a lot of the dough) and then sliding the fork out rather than lifting it back up. You’ll have to be a little gentler for the second pass so you maintain the pretty pattern!

If you’re making a slightly smaller cookie I’d recommend baking for a little under the recommended bake time of 12 minutes per batch. I think that a golden color is a good gauge for these. You’ll be surprised that you can actually see the difference in color even though these are already a nice brown from the peanut butter.

Let the cookies cool on the sheet for a little bit before moving them to the wire rack because they’re a little soft when you take them out. Usually I turn a fan on them to speed the process.

And don’t worry… These aren’t any kind of evil, they’re just good ol’ fashioned peanut butter cookies. You could, however, amp it up by dipping them in chocolate which I will definitely try at some point.

I hope you enjoy them!

One comment

  1. When are you opening your own bakery?!?!

Leave a Reply

