Mystery Box Cupcake Challenge – Tea

Though I have never formally entered into any online baking competitions, I was so excited to see that Jamieann at Sweetest Kitchen came up with the idea for a Mystery Box Cupcake Challenge! It’s the inaugural month, and the secret ingredient is tea. With so many varieties out there, I’d been fantasizing about all different kinds of cupcakes I could make using tea flavors I love, but this one really struck me.

Now you should keep in mind that although orange is one of my favorite colors, I don’t particularly care for orange flavored things. However, once I got this recipe idea in my head I had to go for it. I kept picturing a cupcake that tasted like a Creamsicle – the frozen treat that tastes like oranges and cream (in case you haven’t had one). Let me tell you, I think these cupcakes come pretty close. My house smelled so warm and orange-y, and the cupcakes were so light and much more flavorful than their non-orange appearance would lead you to believe. A whipped cream frosting was just the topping to compliment the citrus flavor without competing with it or muting it completely.

So my entry for this month’s competition is my Orange Cupcakesicle, and here is a link to the recipe! Please head over to Sweetest Kitchen until July 26 to see all the entries and to cast your vote – hopefully for my cupcake!

The coolest part about this whole thing, aside from seeing what everyone else comes up with, is that the winner of July’s Mystery Box Cupcake Challenge will receive prizes from:

Thank you to all our prize sponsors!

Happy noshing!

7 comments

  1. Yum!! Fantastic entry, I’ve always loved Tazo teas! I’m impressed with that lovely dome on that cupcake too!

  2. AleintheValley · · Reply

    This Cupcake is AMAZING! Soooo smart to use Tazo Sweet Orange Tea! Way to think outside the mystery box! 🙂

  3. Best Cupcake ever!

  4. Could you post the recipe? These are really intriguing and I’d love to try making them myself. It’s also tough for me to choose which one to vote for without being able to see the recipe and picture how the cupcake might taste.

    1. Posting the recipe tomorrow, be sure to come back and check it out!

  5. What a delicious cupcake – and creamsicles were always my favorite combination – imagine them now in non-frozen delicious cupcake form….

    THE BEST!

  6. These treats look awesome! I love creamsicles in cupcake form.

Leave a Reply

